Education Award Committee

  • Education Award Committee Chair

    • Meikei Ieong
       - Fellow
      Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute
      Chief Technology Officer

      Biography: Meikei Ieong (SM’01) received the B.S. degree in electrical engineering from the National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan, in 1991 and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical and computer engineering from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, in 1993 and 1996, respectively. He also received an MBA degree from the Sloan Fellows Program of Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2013.

      Meikei is currently Vice-President of TSMC Europe. He was program director of TSMC’s 28nm High-Performance and Mobile Technologies. Prior to that he held various engineering and management positions at IBM including senior manager at IBM TJ. Watson Research Center, Yorktown, NY. He’s recipient of IBM Technical Achievement and Corporate awards and was elected as a Master Inventor at IBM Research.

      He held an adjunct associate professor position with the Department of Electrical Engineering from the Columbia University, NY in 2001. He was General Chairman of the IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM). He has served as an editor for the IEEE Transaction on Electron Devices since 2010 and as chair of the IEEE EDS Education Award committee since 2013. He has Published more than one hundred papers in referred journals and conference proceedings and more than eighty patents. He also speaks frequently at international conferences and seminars.

  • Education Award Committee Members

    • Robert W. Dutton
      Stanford University
      CIS Ext., Room 333
      Serra Mall
      Stanford Mall, CA 94305-4075
      Phone 1:
      +1 650 723 1349

      +1 650 725 7731
    • Kazunari Ishimaru
      Toshiba Corporation
    • Chandra Mouli
       - Memory Devices and Technology; Solid State Device Phenomena
      Micron technology Inc.
      8000 S. Federal Way R&D MS 1-720
      Boise, ID 83706
      Phone 1:
      +1 208 368 2092

      +1 208 368 2548
      Chandra Mouli is with Micron Technology Inc., Boise, ID, USA. He is currently Director of Device Technology with responsibilities in the area of advanced device characterization, reliability analysis, test structure design/layout, process & device modeling for all technologies under development in R&D.

      He received his undergraduate degree in Physics and MSEE from the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore, India and Ph.D (EE) from the University of Texas at Austin. He was with Texas Instruments for couple of years before joining UT/Austin. His interests include semiconductor devices and process technology for advanced memory, opto-electronic devices, exploratory research in the area of new materials and device structures. He has more than hundred issued patents and several pending in various areas of semiconductor devices and process – in advanced memory, novel devices and image sensor technology. He has served in the technical committees for various conferences, including IEDM, IRPS and SISPAD. He has also served in the review committees for NSF and SRC. He is currently a member of the scientific advisory board in SRC’s focus center programs and is a member of the ITRS technical working group.
    • Albert Z.H. Wang
       - Fellow
      University of California
      Dept. of Electrical and Computer Engineering
      Office: 417 EBU2, Lab: 227 EBU2
      Riverside, CA 92521
      Phone 1:
      +1 951 827 2555

      +1 951 827 2425

      Lecture Topics:

      1. ESD-RFIC co-design techniques.
      2. Mixed-mode ESD protection circuit simulation design methodology.
      3. Above-IC ESD protection by nano technology
      4. Field-programmable ESD protection by nano technology

    • Werner Weber
       - Fellow
      Infineon Technologies
      Munich 81726
      Phone 1:
      +49 89 234 48470

      +49 89 234 955 7082

      Lecture Topics:  

      1) 3D Stacking of Silicon Chips - An Industrial Viewpoint
      2) Industrialization of Micro-Electro-Mechanical Systems
    • Jesus del Alamo