PhD Student Fellowship

Congratulations to the 2014 EDS PhD Student Fellowship recipients: Amit Trivedi, Peng Huang, and Sam Vaziri!

2015 EDS PhD Student Fellowship

Description: One year fellowships are awarded to promote, recognize, and support PhD level study and research within the Electron Devices Society’s field of interest.

It is expected that three fellowships will be awarded, with the intention of at least one fellowship being given to eligible students in each of the following geographical regions every year: Americas, Europe/Middle East/Africa, and Asia & Pacific.  Only one candidate can win per educational institution.

Prize: US$5,000 to the student and if necessary funds are also available to assist in covering travel and accommodation cost to attend the IEDM for presentation of an award plaque. The EDS Newsletter will feature articles about the EDS PhD Fellows and their work over the course of the next year.

Eligibility: Candidate must: be an IEEE EDS student member at the time of nomination; be pursuing a doctorate degree within the EDS field of interest on a full-time basis; and continue his/her studies at the current institution with the same faculty advisor for twelve months after receipt of award. Sponsor must be an IEEE EDS member. Previous award winners are ineligible.

Basis for Judging: Demonstration of his/her significant ability to perform independent research in the fields of electron devices and a proven history of academic excellence.

Nomination Package:

  • Online application form
  • Nominating letter by an EDS member
  • Two-page (maximum) statement by the student describing his or her education and research interests and accomplishments
  • One-page biographical sketch of the student (including student's mailing and email addresses)
  • One copy of the student‚Äôs under-graduate and graduate transcripts/grades. Please provide an explanation of the grading system if different from the A-F format.
  • Two letters of recommendation from individuals familiar with the student‚Äôs research and educational credentials.¬† Letters of recommendation cannot be from the nominator.


  • Complete nomination packages are due at the EDS Executive Office no later than May 15, 2015
  • Recipients will be notified by July 15, 2015
  • Monetary awards will be given by August 15, 2015
  • Formal award presentations will take place at the EDS Board of Governors¬†Meeting in December 2015.

Send completed nomination packages to:

Mail: IEEE EDS Executive Office
PhD Student Fellowship Program
445 Hoes Lane
Piscataway, NJ 08854 USA

Fax: +1 732 235 1626

Printable 2015 call for nominations
Answers to FAQs
Additional Questions? Please contact
2014 Winners School
Amit Trivedi
Georgia Institute of Technology, Georgia, USA
Peng Huang
Peking University, Beijing, China
Sam Vaziri KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Kista, Sweden
2013 Winners School
Hong-Yu (Henry) Chen Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA
He Tian Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
Tarek Zaki University of Stuttgart, Stuttgart, Germany
2012 Winners School
   Bin Gao         Peking University, Beijing, China
Jacopo Franco                 imec / Katholieke Universiteit, Lueven, Belgium                
Shimeng Yu Stanford University, California, USA
Past Recipients (2001-2011)


Although the IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS) is pleased to invite all individuals and groups in the OFAC embargoed countries to submit nominations for IEEE EDS Awards, the IEEE EDS cannot provide any award monies to members from such countries at this time.