PhD Student Fellowship

2014 EDS PhD Student Fellowship

Description: One year fellowships are awarded to promote, recognize, and support PhD level study and research within the Electron Devices Society’s field of interest.

It is expected that three fellowships will be awarded, with the intention of at least one fellowship being given to eligible students in each of the following geographical regions every year: Americas, Europe/Middle East/Africa, and Asia & Pacific.  Only one candidate can win per educational institution.

Prize: US$5,000 to the student and if necessary funds are also available to assist in covering travel and accommodation cost to attend the IEDM for presentation of an award plaque. The EDS Newsletter will feature articles about the EDS PhD Fellows and their work over the course of the next year.

Eligibility: Candidate must: be an IEEE EDS student member at the time of nomination; be pursuing a doctorate degree within the EDS field of interest on a full-time basis; and continue his/her studies at the current institution with the same faculty advisor for twelve months after receipt of award. Sponsor must be an IEEE EDS member. Previous award winners are ineligible.

Basis for Judging: Demonstration of his/her significant ability to perform independent research in the fields of electron devices and a proven history of academic excellence.

Nomination Package:

  • Online application form
  • Nominating letter by an EDS member
  • Two-page (maximum) statement by the student describing his or her education and research interests and accomplishments
  • One-page biographical sketch of the student (including student's mailing and email addresses)
  • One copy of the student‚Äôs under-graduate and graduate transcripts/grades. Please provide an explanation of the grading system if different from the A-F format.
  • Two letters of recommendation from individuals familiar with the student‚Äôs research and educational credentials.¬† Letters of recommendation cannot be from the nominator.


  • Complete nomination packages are due at the EDS Executive Office no later than May 15, 2014
  • Recipients will be notified by July 15, 2014
  • Monetary awards will be given by August 15, 2014
  • Formal award presentations will take place at the EDS Board of Governors¬†Meeting in December 2014.
EDS is now accepting nomination package submissions via e-mail, fax or mail!
Send completed nomination packages to:

Mail: IEEE EDS Executive Office
PhD Student Fellowship Program
445 Hoes Lane
Piscataway, NJ 08854 USA

Fax: +1 732 235 1626

Printable 2014 call for nominations
Questions? Please contact

2013 Winners School
Hong-Yu (Henry) Chen Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA
He Tian Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
Tarek Zaki University of Stuttgart, Stuttgart, Germany
2012 Winners School
   Bin Gao         Peking University, Beijing, China
Jacopo Franco                 imec / Katholieke Universiteit, Lueven, Belgium                
Shimeng Yu Stanford University, California, USA
2011 Winners School
Sungsik Lee London Centre for Nanotechnology, University College London, UK
Nagarajan Raghavan Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore
Deblina Sarkar University of California, Santa Barbara, CA, USA
2010 Winners School
Can Bayram Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA
Jing Zhuge Peking University, Beijing, China
Guruprasad Katti IMEC / Katholieke Universiteit, Lueven, Belgium
2009 Winners School
Faisal Amir The University of Manchester, Manchester, UK
Pierre-Yves Delaunay Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA
Ximeng (Simon) Guan Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
Rinus Lee Tek Po National University of Singapore, Singapore
2008 Winners School
Ahmed E. Islam Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, USA
Jay Mody IMEC, Leuven, Belgium
Runsheng Wang Peking University, Beijing, China
Jiahui Yuan Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA, USA
2007 Winners School
Tuo-Hung Hou Cornell University, Ithica, NY
Danijel Dankovic University of Nis, Nis, Serbia
Kah-Wee Ang National University of Singapore, Singapore, Singapore
Chen Yang Tsinghua Iniversity, Beijing, China
2006 Winners School
Ravi Todi University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL
Rimoon Agaiby Newcastle, United Kingdom
Wen Wu Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Kowloon, Hong Kong
Chi Yung Ng Nanyang Technological University
2005 Winners School
Christopher Morris University of Washington, Seattle, WA
Elena Smotrova National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine, Kharkov, Ukraine
Sun-Jung Kim National University of Singapore, Singapore
Tony Aik Seng Low National University of Singapore, Singapore
2004 Winners School
David Wesley DiSanto Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
David John Univ of British Columbia, Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Martin von Haartman KTH, Royal Institute of Technology, Kista, Sweden
Hongyu Yu National University of Singapore, Singapore
2003 Winners School
Javier Salcedo University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL, USA
Yu-Long Jiang Fudan University, Shanghai, China
2002 Winners School
Jack Chen University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL, USA
Yung Fu Chong National University of Singapore , Singapore
Ofir Bochobza-Degani Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel
David M. Fried Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA
2001 Winners School
Tushar Kanti Ghosh Lancaster University, Lancaster, United Kingdom
Sergei Kucheyev The Australian National University, Canberra, Australia
Yee-Chia Yeo University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, USA


Although the IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS) is pleased to invite all individuals and groups in the OFAC embargoed countries to submit nominations for IEEE EDS Awards, the IEEE EDS cannot provide any award monies to members from such countries at this time.