Photovoltaic Devices Committee

  • Photovoltaic Devices Committee Chair

    • Juzer Vasi
      Department of Electrical Engineering
      Indian Institute of Technology
      Bombay, Mumbai 400076
      Juzer Vasi is with the EE Department at the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (IITB), Mumbai. He has worked in in the areas of CMOS and Photovoltaic devices. He was co-founder of the National Centre for Photovoltaic Research and Education (NCPRE) at IITB, and is the Research Thrust Co-Lead for the Solar Energy Research Institute for India and the US (SERIIUS), a bi-national consortium project. His current area of research is photovoltaic module reliability.
      He is a Fellow of the IEEE and the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE). He was an Editor of IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices from 1996 to 2003, an EDS Distinguished Lecturer from 2001 to 2006, and Chair of the EDS Asia-Pacific SRC from 2005 to 2006.
      He obtained the B.Tech. degree in Electrical Engineering from IITB and a Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University.
  • Photovoltaic Devices Committee Members

    • Armin Aberle
       - Solid State Energy Sources
      Solar Energy Research Institute of Singapore (SERIS)
      National University of Singapore (NUS)
      7 Engineering Drive 1
      Building E3A, #06-01
      Singapore 117574
      Phone 1:
      (+65) 6516 4155

      Fax: (+65) 6775 1943
      Prof Armin ABERLE is the CEO of the Solar Energy Research Institute of Singapore (SERIS) at the National University of Singapore (NUS) and a tenured full professor in the university’s Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He holds BSc/MSc, PhD and Dr habil degrees in physics from German universities. His research focus is on photovoltaic materials, devices and modules. His R&D work covers the full spectrum from fundamental materials research to the industrial evaluation of advanced or novel PV technologies at the pilot line level and their transfer to industry. In his 30-year career in the PV sector he has (co)authored more than 400 papers (which have received more than 8,000 citations, h-index 43) and has been supervising more than 70 PhD students. He is an editor of IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices and an Editorial Board member of Progress in Photovoltaics and other journals. In the 1990s he established the Silicon Photovoltaics Department at the Institute for Solar Energy Research (ISFH) in Hamelin, Germany. He then worked for 10 years in Sydney, Australia as a professor for photovoltaics at the University of New South Wales (UNSW). In 2008 he joined NUS to establish SERIS, as the Deputy CEO and the Director of the Silicon PV Department. Since 2012 he is SERIS’ CEO and the Director of the institute’s Novel PV Concepts Cluster. Since 2015 he is also Director of SERIS’ Silicon Materials and Cells Cluster.
    • Tim Anderson
      Dean, College of Engineering
      University of Massachusetts - Amherst
      125 Marston Hall
      130 Natural Resources Road
      Amherst, MA 01003-9293
      Tim Anderson received his education in chemical engineering from Iowa State University (B.S.) and the University of California, Berkeley (M.S., Ph.D.). He joined the Chemical Engineering Department at the University of Florida in 1978 and served as chairman from 1991 until 2003, followed by a term as Dean of Research for the College of Engineering until through 2008. Tim currently holds the rank of Distinguished Professor. He is also Director of the Florida Energy Systems Consortium (FESC), consisting of the 11 State of Florida universities and dedicated to research, education, and outreach in Florida-centered energy systems. His research includes the deposition of advanced electronic and photonic materials. In particular, his group has an active program in the growth of CuInxGa1-xSe2 absorbers for photovoltaics as well as the group III nitrides. Tim has served a number of roles in the Photovoltaics Specialist Conference, including Conference Chair of the 34th PVSC in 2009.

      Tim has been recognized for his research accomplishments through several awards, including the AIChE Charles M. A. Stine Award, the California Institute of Technology's W.N. Lacey Lectureship, the Professional Achievement Citation in Engineering Award from Iowa State University, the Michigan/Michigan State Joint Lectureship, and the DOE Research Partnership Award. Tim also spent a sabbatical year at the University of Grenoble as a Fullbright Senior Research Scholar. His group is credited with over 220 publications in his discipline research and has supervised over 60 Ph.D. students. Prof. Anderson a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE).

      Professor Anderson has long been active in engineering education. He served as director of the NSF SUCCEED Engineering Education Coalition until its completion in 2003. He is recipient of the Warren K. Lewis Award for Chemical Engineering Education (AIChE), ConocoPhillips Lectureship, Benjamin J. Dasher Award, and Union Carbide Lectureship Award. Tim has over 80 publications and presentations in engineering education research to his credit, and is a Fellow of the American Society for Engineering Education.
    • Paul A. Basore
       - Dr.
      Center Director 5J00
      National Renewable Energy Laboratory
      15013 Denver West Parkway MS3221
      Golden, CO 80401
      Phone 1:
      +1 650 455 8858

    • N.J. Ekins-Daukes
       - Dr.
      Department of Physics
      Imperial College London
      Prince Consort Road
      London SW7 2AZ
      Phone 1:
      +44 20759 46675

      +44 20759 42077
    • Sunit Tyagi
      Intel India Technology
      136 Airport Road
      Bangalore 560066
      Phone 1:
      +1 91 988 046 3442