About The Electron Devices Society

The IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS) is one of the technical societies & councils that you can join as an IEEE member.

EDS began in 1952 as a committee of the Institute of Radio Engineers (IRE). With the merger in 1963 of the IRE and the American Institute of Radio Engineers, EDS became a technical group under the newly formed IEEE. In 1976, EDS became a society of IEEE.

To respond to the more complex society structure and increased business activities, the Society established an Executive Office in 1990.



EDS now has about 11,000 members and chapters worldwide, sponsors many technical periodicals, provides support for technical meetings and has its own business office. The activities of the Society are governed by a Constitution and Bylaws and administered by a Board of Governors (BoG) and an Administrative Forum (Forum).  The BoG consists of the President, President-Elect, Jr. & Sr. Past Presidents, Secretary, Treasurer, and 22 elected members-at-large.  The Forum consists of BoG members, Vice Presidents, Standing Committee Chairs, Technical Committee Chairs, Chapter Chairs, committee members, publication representatives and EDS representatives to IEEE committees.



Year Event
1951 The entity name, as a member of the Institute of Radio Engineers (IRE), was the 'Electron Tubes and Solid-State Devices Committee'.
1952 The Committee name was changed to the 'IRE Professional Group on Electron Devices'.
1963 The first year of IEEE operations, resulting from the merger of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers (AIEE) and the IRE. The name was changed to the 'IEEE Professional Technical Group on Electron Devices'.
1963 The IEEE Professional Technical Group on Electron Devices merged with the `Solid State Devices Committee'.
1964 The 'Professional Group on Electron Devices' merged with the 'New Energy Sources Committee' to become the 'IEEE Electron Devices Group'.
1965 Committee 28 merged into the Electron Devices Group.
1976 The 'IEEE Electron Devices Group' became the 'IEEE Electron Devices Society'.