Previous award winners of the Robert Bosch Micro and Nano Electro Mechanical Systems Award



Stephen C. Terry

John H. Jerman

James B. Angell (late)

Palo Alto, CA

For pioneering contributions to MEMS by developing and commercializing the microfabricated gas chromatograph
Göran Stemme

Royal Institute of Technology
Stockholm Sweden

For pioneering contributions in MEMS sensors, particularly for medical applications, and sustained commitment to transferring MEMS to industry and society
Chang-Jin "CJ" Kim Univ. of California, Los Angeles, CA For pioneering surface-tension-based microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) that led to electrowetting digital microfluidics and superhydrophobic drag reduction
Ming C. Wu University of California, Berkeley For pioneering contributions in MEMS optical switches and optoelectronic tweezers
Hiroyuki Fujita Advanced Research Lab of Canon Medical Systems Corp. For pioneering contributions in microactuators, optical-MEMS, and bio-nano-MEMS and strong leadership in the science of MEMS
Pasqualina M. Sarro

Delft University of Technology

For pioneering contributions in novel materials, material integration and innovations in MEMS and strong commitment to education and technology transfer

Clark Nguyen

University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA, USA

For pioneering research on high-frequency MEMS vibrating systems and for extraordinary efforts in support of MEMS in industry, government, and teaching



Henry Baltes

Acceptance Speech

Presentation Photo

ETH Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland

For contributions to the exploration and development of CMOS-MEMS, to production using IC foundries and MEMS post-processing, and for inspirational leadership in the worldwide MEMS community
Roger T. Howe
Stanford University
Stanford, CA, USA
For sustained contributions to MEMS/NEMS over many years especially those enabling MEMS-based inertial-sensor applications
Yu-Chong Tai

Caltech, Pasadena, CA, USA

For pioneering contributions in materials, technologies, and design of MEMS/NEMS and groundbreaking achievements in the realization of biomedical parylene MEMS