# 33 EDS Members Elected to the IEEE Grade of Fellow Effective 1 January 2001

### Peter M. Asbeck

University of California, San Diego, La Jolla, CA, USA For development of heterostructure bipolar transistors and applications

### **Werner Bachtold**

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich, Switzerland For contributions to the development of microwave semiconductor devices and circuits

# **Jeffrey Bokor**

University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, USA For contributions to EUV optical lithography and deep-submicron MOSFETs

### **Elliott Rave Brown**

University of California, Los Angeles, Los Angeles, USA For contributions to microwave and millimeter-wave solid-state antennas and sources

## Stephen Y. Chou

Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, USA For contributions to the development of nanoscale electronic devices and nanotechnology

### Michael J. Declercq

Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, Switzerland For contributions to innovate design of mixed signal integrated circuits

# Steven W. Depp

IBM T.J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY, USA For contributions to thin film transistor/liquid crystal display technology

### Sverre T. Eng

Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, CA, USA

For contributions to optical communications, applied laser spectroscopy, and lownoise mixer diode technology

# Tor Arne Fjeldly

Norwegian University of Science & Technology, Kjeller, Norway For contributions to semiconductor device modeling and the development of AIM spice

## **Eby Gershon Friedman**

University of Rochester, Rochester, NY, USA

For contributions to high performance circuit design and VLSI-based synchronous systems

# **Daniel Charles Guterman**

SanDisk Corporation, Sunnyvale, CA, USA

For leadership in the development of non-volatile, solid-state memory technologies

## Ronald W. Knepper

IBM Microelectronics, SRDC, Hopewell Junction, NY, USA For contributions to semiconductor device design, modeling, and circuits

## **Robert Michael Kolbas**

North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, USA For contributions to understanding and development of quantum well heterostructure laser and light emitters

### James B. Kuo

National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan For contributions to modeling CMOS VLSI devices

## **Lawrence Ernest Larson**

For contributions to development and applications of high-speed integrated circuits and devices

## **Chien-Ping Lee**

National Chiao Tung University, Hsin Chu, Taiwan

For contributions to optoelectronic integrated circuits and compound semiconductor devices and technology

## John Haig Marsh

University of Glasgow, Glasgow, Scotland

For contributions to development of integrated optics based on semiconductor quantum well devices

# Masatoshi Migitaka

Toyota Technological Institute, Nagoya, Japan

For contributions to research and development of silicon high temperature integrated circuits

## Vijay K. Nair

Motorola Research Labs, Tempe, AZ, USA

For contributions to development of low-power device and integrated circuits

# Khalil Najafi

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA

For contributions to biomedical microelectromechanical systems technology

## **Yi-Ching Pao**

Filtronic Solid State, Inc., Santa Clara, CA, USA

For contributions to the development and manufacturing of molecular beam epitaxial based microwave and millimeter-wave devices and integrated circuits

## David L. Pulfrey

University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada

For contributions to the modeling of heterojunction bipolar semiconductor devices

# Conor S. Rafferty

Lucent Technologies, Murray Hill, NJ, USA

For the development of pioneering simulation tools and models for technology computer aided design

# Ronald D. Schrimpf

Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN, USA

For contributions to the understanding and the modeling of physical mechanisms governing the response of semiconductor devices to radiation exposure

# **Eric Fred Schubert**

Boston University, Boston, MA, USA

For contributions to semiconductor doping and resonant-cavity devices

## Joannes M.J. Sevenhans

Alcatel, Antwerpen, Belgium

For contributions to the design of solid-state telecommunications transceivers

# **Rainee Navin Simons**

For contributions to development of microwave coplanar transmission lines and circuits

## **Costas John Spanos**

University of California, Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, USA For contributions and leadership in semiconductor manufacturing

## Yuan-Chen Sun

Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company, Hsin-Chu, Taiwan For contributions to advanced CMOS technology

## **Federico Tosco**

CSELT, Torino, Italy

For contributions and leadership in technologies and international standards for optical and wireless communications

## Sigurd Wagner

Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, USA

For contributions to copper indium selenide and amorphous silicon thin-film solar cells and contributions to engineering education

# Bogdan Maciej Wilamowski

University of Wyoming, Laramie, WY, USA

For contributions to industrial electronics and static induction devices

## Naoki Yokoyama

Fujitsu Laboratories, Ltd., Atsugi, Japan

For contributions to the development of self-aligned gallium arsenide MESFET integrated circuits