# 25 EDS Members Elected to the IEEE Grade of Fellow Effective 1 January 2003

## Heinrich P. Baltes, ETH Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland

for contributions to the development and commercialization of CMOS based MEMS

# Bernhard E. Boser, University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA

for contributions to integrated MEMS and learning algorithm.

# Zoltan J. Cendes, Ansoft Corporation, Pittsburgh, PA, USA

for contributions to the application of finite element modeling to microwave guides, structures and circuits

# Bruce G. Danly, US Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, DC, USA

for contributions to the development of high-power millimeter-wave sources for fusion, accelerator, and defense applications

# Gracie E. Davis, La Qunita, CA, USA

for contributions to the development of radiation-hard electronic components for military and space applications

## Mohamed J. Deen, Dundas, ON

for contributions to modeling, noise, and parameter extraction in silicon transistors and high speed photodetectors

# Georges J. Faillon, Velizy, 78141 France

for contributions to applications of high efficiency-high power klystrons and gyrotrons

## David J. Frank, Yorktown Heights, NY, USA

for contributions to solid-state devices and ultra-small CMOS devices

#### William D. Greason, Ontario, Canada

for contributions to the fundamental principles of electrostatic discharge and its effect on electronic devices and systems

# Dong-Seok Hyun, Seoul, Korea

for contributions to the design, analysis, and implementation of high performance power conversion systems and for leadership in power electronics education

# Thomas N. Jackson, University Park, PA, USA

for contributions to GaAs MESFETS and thin-film transistors

# Kristina M. Johnson, Durham, NC, USA

for contributions to optoelectronic processing systems and liquid crystal devices

# Nan M. Jokerst, Atlanta, GA, USA

for contributions to the integration and packaging of optoelectronic devices for the realization of optical interconnections and interfaces

## Kinam Kim, Yong-in City, Korea

for contributions the development of high-density dynamic random access memory

# Hoi-Sing Kwok, Hong Kong, China

for pioneering research in liquid crystal display technology

# Hiroyuki Matsunami, Kyoto, Japan

for contributions to Silicon Carbide epitaxial growth technology and transistors

# Tadashi Nishimura, Hyogo, Japan

for leadership in the development of advanced CMOS devices and process technologies

# Tadahiro Ohmi, Sendai, Japan

for contributions and leadership in semiconductor engineering

#### Umberto Ravaioli, Urbana, IL, USA

for contributions to Monte Carlo simulation of electron devices

#### Bruno Ricco, Bologna, Italy

for contributions to thin oxide MOS devices and non volatile memories

## Mark J. Rodwell, Santa Barbara, CA, USA

for contributions to high speed electron devices and integrated circuits

#### Dierk Schroeder, Munich, Germany

for contributions to modeling of power semiconductors for circuit design

# Alan C. Seabaugh, Notre Dame, IN, USA

for contributions to high speed and nanoelectronic device and circuit technology

## Elias D. Towe, Pittsburgh, PA, USA

for contributions to nanostructure optoelectronic technology

#### Steven H. Voldman, Essex Junction, VT, USA

for contributions to electrostatic discharge protection in CMOS, silicon on insulator, and RF silicon germanium technology

# The Nominations of the Following IEEE Members Were Evaluated by EDS But the individuals are Not Current Members of EDS

# Teruaki Aoki, Tokyo, Japan

for leadership in consumer electronics and contributions to semiconductor technology

# David L. Cave, Tempe, AZ, USA

for contributions to analog product development and smart power devices

## Shang-Yi Chiang, Hsin-Chu, Taiwan

for technical leadership in developing and elevating silicon foundry technologies

# William J. Gallagher, Yorktown Heights, NY, USA

for contributions to the development of oxide-barrier tunnel junctions for superconducting and magnetic device applications

# David L. Harame, Essex Junction, VT, USA

for contributions to the development of SiGe Heterojunction Bipolar Transistor and BiCMOS technologies

Burn Jeng Lin, Hsin Chu, 300 Taiwan for contributions to lithography theory, tooling, masks, and fabrication technology