23 EDS Members Elected to the IEEE Grade of Fellow Effective 1 January 2006

Muhammad Alam, Purdue University, West Lafayette, IN, USA

for contributions to complementary metal oxide semiconductors (CMOS) circuit reliability and computational models for electronics and optoelectronics

Jesus del Alamo, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA

for contributions to microelectronic devices

Seshu Desu, University of Massachusetts-Amherst, Amherst, MA, USA for contributions to development of ferroelectric thin film devices

Andreas Andreou, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, USA for contributions to energy efficient sensory microsystems

Gary Bernstein, University of Notre Dame, Notre Dame, IN, USA for contributions to techniques for fabricating nanoscale devices and circuits

Steve Chung, National Chiao Tung University, Hsinchu, Taiwan for contributions to reliability in ultra-thin-oxide complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) devices

Simon Deleonibus, CEA LETI, Grenoble Cedex 9, France

for contributions to nanoscaled complementary metal oxide semiconductor (CMOS) devices technology

Hector De Los Santos, NanoMEMS Research, LLC, Irvine, CA, USA for contributions to radio frequency (RF) and microwave micro electromechanical systems (MEMS) devices and applications

Martin Giles, Intel Corporation, Hillsboro, OR, USA

for contributions to technology computer aided design (TCAD) modeling of processes and devices

Hideki Hayashi, Sumitomo Electric Industries, Tokyo, Japan for contributions to and leadership in compound semiconductor device technologies

Larry Hornbeck, Texas Instruments DLP Products, Van Alstyne, TX, USA

for invention, development, and applications of the Digital Micromirror Device

Qin (Alex) Huang, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, USA for contributions to emitter turn-off thyristor technology and its applications

Muhammad Khan, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, USA for contributions to the development of III-nitride electronic sensor systems

Mong-Song Liang, TSMC (Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company, Ltd), Hsin Chu, Taiwan, ROC

for contributions to semiconductor manufacturing technologies

Gary May, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA, USA for contributions to semiconductor manufacturing and engineering education

David Seiler, National Institute of Standards and Technology, Gaithersburg, MD, USA

for leadership in the development of critical metrology and measurement science at the micro and nano levels

Goran Stemme, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden for contributions to micro electro-mechanical systems (MEMS)

Yu-Chong Tai, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA, USA for contributions to integrated nano/micro electro-mechanical systems (MEMS) and nano/micro-fluidics for Lab-on-a-Chip applications

Katsuyoshi Washio, Central Research Laboratory, Hitachi, Ltd., Kokubunji, Tokyo, Japan

for contributions to high-speed silicon and silicon germanium bipolar/Bi complementary metal oxide semiconductors (CMOS) device and circuit technologies

Werner Weber, Infineon Technologies, Munich, Germany for contributions to metal oxide semiconductors (MOS) device physics

Burnell West, Credence Systems Corporation, San Jose, CA, USA for contributions to high-performance automatic test equipment

Gerald Witt, Air Force Office Scientific Research, Arlington, VA, USA for the promotion of research in compound semiconductor devices

Usha Varshney, National Science Foundation, Arlington, VA, USA for technical leadership in sensor technologies and systems