32 EDS Members Elected to the IEEE Grade of Fellow Effective 1 January 2008

Akintunde Akinwande , Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge , MA , USA

for contributions to the development of digital self-aligned gate technology and vacuum microelectronic devices

Kenji Anami , Semiconductor Industry Research Institute Japan (SIRIJ), Chiyoda-ku , Tokyo, Japan

for invention of the divided word line structure for high-speed, low-power logic and memory

Colombo Bolognesi , Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETHZ), Zurich , Switzerland

for contributions to millimeter-wave antimonide-based heterojunction bipolar transistors

John Booske, University of Wisconsin – Madison, Madison, WI, USA for contributions to vacuum electronics and microwave processing of materials

Joe Brewer, (Self-Employed), Melrose, FL, USA

for contributions to nonvolatile memory integrated circuit technology and digital signal

Timothy Brunner , IBM Semiconductor Research and Development Center, Ridgefield , CT , USA

for contributions to optical lithography methods used to pattern integrated circuits

Stephen Campbell , University of Minnesota, Minneapolis , MN , USA for contributions to deeply scaled CMOS devices

Carlos Diaz , Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Co. (TSMC), Hsinchu , Taiwan, China

for contributions to deep sub-micron foundry CMOS technology

Gary Fedder, Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA, USA

for contributions to integrated micro-electro-mechanical-system processes and design methodologies

Michael Fu, University of Maryland, College Park, MD, USA

for contributions to stochastic gradient estimation and simulation optimization

Robert Gao , University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA , USA for contributions to condition monitoring and health diagnosis of machines through sensing methodologies

Fernando Guarin , IBM Microelectronics, Hopewell Junction , NY , USA for contributions to semiconductor materials and reliability

Hiroki Hamada , Sanyo Electric Co., Ltd., Hirakata-City , Osaka, Japan

for contributions to red semiconductor laser diodes and polycrystalline silicon thin-film transistors

Gregg Higashi, Intel Corporation, Santa Clara, CA, USA

for contributions to wet chemical processing of silicon

$\label{thm:minghwei} \textbf{Minghwei Hong , National Tsing Hua University, Hsinchu , Taiwan}$

for contributions to III-V semiconductor MOSFET transistors

Harold Hosack , Semiconductor Research Corporation, Durham , NC , USA for contributions to resonant tunneling and imaging devices

Judy Hoyt, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA for contributions to silicon-based heterostructure devices and technology

Eishi Ibe, Hitachi Ltd., Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan

for contributions to neutron-induced soft-error analysis for semiconductor memory devices

Ming-Dou Ker, National Chiao Tung University, Hsinchu, Taiwan

for contributions to electrostatic protection in integrated circuits, and performance optimization of VLSI micro-systems

Rakesh Kumar, Technology Connexions, Inc., Poway, CA, USA

for entrepreneurial leadership in the field of integrated circuits

Sani Nassif, IBM, Austin, TX, USA

for contributions to semiconductor manufacturing processes

Susumu Noda, Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan

for contributions to photonic crystals and nanophotonics

Donggun Park, Samsung Electronics, Yongin, Gyeonggi-Do, Korea

for contributions to nano-scale CMOS development for memories

Massimo Rudan , University of Bologna, Bologna , Italy

for contributions to theory and modeling of current transport in semiconductor devices

David Shaver, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, Lexington, MA, USA

for leadership in semiconductor microlithography and microfabrication technology

Jyuo-Min Shyu , Industrial Technology Research Institute (ITRI), Hsinchu , Taiwan

for leadership in the microelectronics industry

Michael Simpson, University of Tennessee, Oak Ridge, TN, USA

for contributions to nanotechnology in engineered devices and biology

Gregory Timp , University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana , IL , USA for contributions to the design, fabrication and characterization of nanometer-scale transistors

Hsing-Huang Tseng, **SEMATECH**, **Austin**, **TX**, **USA** for contributions to CMOS ultra-thin gate stack technology

Daisuke Ueda , Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. Ltd., Osaka , Japan for contributions to power-saving semiconductor devices and circuits

Kit Lai Paul Yu , University of California, San Diego, La Jolla , CA, USA for contributions to semiconductor waveguide modulators and detectors

Bin Zhao , Freescale Semiconductor, Irvine , CA, USA for contributions to interconnect technology for integrated circuits