33 EDS Members Elected to the IEEE Grade of Fellow Effective 1 January 2009

Yves Baeyens, Bell Laboratories, Alcatel-Lucent, Murray Hill, NJ,USA for contributions to the broadband and millimeter-wave circuits for optical and wireless communications

Rashid Bashir, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Champaign, IL, USA for contributions to development of micro-systems and nanotechnology for medical applications

Aleksander Braginski, Research Center Juelich, Juelich, Germany for leadership in research and development in magnetics and applied superconductivity

Cor Claeys, IMEC, Leuven, Belgium

for contributions to semiconductor device physics, defect engineering, and low frequency noise characterization

Vikram Dalal, Iowa State University, Ames, IA, USA for contributions to thin-film photovoltaic energy conversion materials and devices

Nicholas Economou, Carl Zeiss SMT, Inc., Peabody, MA, USA for leadership in developing and commercializing focused ion beam systems

Tahir Ghani, Intel Corporation, Hillsboro, OR, USA for contributions to deep submicron metal oxide semiconductor transistor development for microprocessors

Joe Jensen, HRL Laboratories, LLC., Malibu, CA, USA for contributions to high-speed analog-digital converter and high-speed digital integrated circuit design

Shoji Kawahito, Shizuoka University, Shizuoka, Japan for contributions to sensor interfacing, sensor signal processing and multiple-level signaling

Gregory Kovacs, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA for contributions to fabrication and use of biosensors for medical, environmental and space applications

Andrea Lacaita, Politecnico di Milano, Milano, Italy for contributions to modeling of single-photon avalanche-diodes and non-volatile memory devices

Ching-Ting Lee, National Cheng Kung University, Tainan, Taiwan for contributions to galium nitride-based optoelectronic and electronic devices

Konstantin Lukin, National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine (IRE NASU), Kharkov, Ukraine for contributions to research in noise and chaotic waveform radars

Jose Maiz, Intel Corporation, Hillsboro, OR, USA for contributions to reliability of high performance microprocessors

Timothy Maloney, Intel Corporation, Palo Alto, CA, USA for contributions to electrostatic discharge protection of semiconductor components

Homer Mantooth, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AK, USA for contributions to modeling of power electronic devices

Joe McPherson, Silicon Technology Development, Dallas, TX, USA for contributions to reliability physics and engineering and application to integrated circuits

Takashi Mizutani, Nagoya University, Nagoya, Japan for contributions to device physics, nanostructures and heterostructure devices

Mehmet Ozturk, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC, USA for contributions to silicon and silicon-germanium epitaxy in complementary metal-oxide semiconductor integrated circuits

Matthias Passlack, Freescale Semiconductor, Inc, Chandler, AZ, USA for contributions to III-V metal-oxide-semiconductor technology

Raymond Quere, XLIM, Cedex, France for leadership in device characterization and computer aided design microwave engineering

Mark Reed, Yale University, New Haven, CT, USA for contributions to nanoscale and molecular-scale electronic devices

Adam Skorek, University of Quebec at Trois-Rivieres, Trois-Rivieres, Canada for contributions to electro-thermal analysis of industrial processes

Lisa Su, Freescale Semiconductor, Austin, TX, USA for leadership in semiconductor technology development

Richard Swanson, SunPower Corporation, San Jose, CA, USA for invention of the point contact solar cell and contributions to its commercial applications

William Tonti, IBM Corporation, Essex Junction, Vermont, USA for contributions to semiconductor memory reliability

Robert Wallace, University of Texas at Dallas, Richardson, TX, USA for contributions to high-k gate dielectric materials for integrated circuits

Albert Wang, University of California, Riverside, Riverside, CA, USA for contributions to design-for-reliability and system-on-chip

Richard Withers, Varian Inc., Sunnyvale, CA, USA

for development of superconductive and cryogenic radio frequency circuits for nuclear magnetic resonance probes

Robert York, University of California at Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA, USA for contributions to ferroelectric devices, power amplifiers and phased array systems

Zhiping Yu, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China for contributions to modeling and simulation of advanced semiconductor devices

Enrico Zanoni, Universita' di Padova, Padova, Italy for contributions to reliability of compound semiconductor devices

John Zolper, Raytheon, Vienna, VA, USA for leadership in compound semiconductor electronics

Hiroshi Iwai 2009 EDS Fellows Chair Tokyo Institute of Technology Yokohama, Japan