36 EDS Members Elected to the IEEE Grade of Fellow Effective 1 January 2010

Joerg Appenzeller, Birck Nantechnology Center, West Lafayette, IN, USA for contributions to carbon nanotube transistors and circuits

Jennifer Bernhard, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, IL, USA for development of multifunctional, reconfigurable, and integrated antennas

Sandoval Carneiro, Federal University of Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil for leadership in power systems research and engineering education

Amitava Chatterjee, Texas Instruments Inc., Dallas, TX, USA for contributions to complementary metal oxide semiconductor device technology and on-chip electrostatic discharge protection

Mariesa Crow, Missouri University of Science & Technology, Rolla, MO, USA for contributions to power engineering education and to computational methods for power system analysis

Paul Dodd, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM, USA for contributions to the understanding and simulation of single-event effects in microelectronics

Long-Sheng Fan, National Tsing Hua University, San Jose, CA, USA for contributions to Micro Electro-Mechanical Systems

Ian Ferguson, Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, GA, USA for the development of semiconductor materials and devices for infrared and ultraviolet sensor applications

Yogesh Gianchandani, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI, USA for contributions to silicon-based microactuators and on-chip microplasmas

Gennady Gildenblat, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ, USA for contributions to modeling of metal-oxide semiconductor field effect transistors

Charles Goldsmith, MEMtronics Corporation, Plano, TX, USA for development of micro-electromechanical capacitive switches

Masashi Horiguchi, Renesas Technology Corp., Tokyo, Japan for contributions to circuit technologies for high-density low-power memories

Dimitrios Ioannou, George Mason University, Fairfax, VA, USA for contributions to reliability and characterization of silicon-on-insulator devices and materials

Mohammad Karim, Old Dominion University, Norfolk, VA, USA for leadership in engineering education through creation of interdisciplinary programs

Takamaro Kikkawa, Hiroshima University, Hiroshima, Japan for contributions to interconnect technologies for integrated circuits

Fanny Klett, Fraunhofer Institute Digital Media Technology, Ilmenau, Germany for contributions to development and application of educational technologies

Rhee Jin Koo, Dongguk University, Seoul, Korea for contributions to Gallium Arsenide, Microwave and Millimeter-wave Monolithic Integrated Circuits

Richard Lai, Northrop Grumman Aerospace Systems, Redondo Beach, CA, USA for development and space-qualified insertion of millimeter-wave transistor and integrated-circuit technologies

Yusuf Leblebici, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Lausanne, Switzerland for contributions to reliability and design techniques for integrated circuits and systems

Patrick Lenahan, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA, USA for contributions to understanding of radiation damage and reliability of metal-oxide semiconductor devices

Chang Liu, Northwestern University, Evanston, IL, USA for contributions to bio-inspired and polymer micro electro-mechanical systems

Rich Liu, Macronix International Co. Ltd., Hsinchu, Taiwan for leadership in electron-beam mask writing, interconnects, and non-volatile technology development

Francisco Mena, University of Seville, Sevilla, Spain for contributions to the analysis and physical understanding of planar structures, anisotropic media, and metamaterials

Kaizad Mistry, Intel Corporation, Hillsboro, OR, USA for contributions to high performance complementary metal-oxide semiconductor technology and reliability

Arokia Nathan, University College London, London, UK for contributions to thin film transistor technologies

Kwok Ng, Semiconductor Research Corp (SRC), Durham, NC, USA for contributions to the optimization of intrinsic parasitics in metal-oxide semiconductor field-effect transistor design

Yasuhisa Omura, Kansai University, Osaka, Japan for contributions of silicon on insulator devices technology, analysis, and modeling

Fan Ren, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA for contributions to processing technologies for compound semiconductor devices

Thomas Skotnicki, STMicroelectronics, Crolles, France

for contributions to development of metal-oxide semiconductor field effect transistor models and advanced semiconductor technologies

Jordi Sune, Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain for contributions to the understanding of gate oxide failure and reliability methodology

Nobukazu Teranishi, Panasonic Corporation, Kyoto, Japan for contribution to the development of charge-coupled device image sensors

Charles Weitzel, Mesa, AZ, USA

for contributions to compound semiconductor technology and microwave devices

Jinming (Jimmy) Xu, Brown University, Providence, RI, USA for contributions to sensor materials and bio-nano electronics

Shumpei Yamazaki, Kanagawa, Japan

for contributions to, and leadership in the industrialization of non-volatile memory and thin film transistor technologies

Howard Yang, Montage Technology Co. Ltd., Shanghai, China for leadersip in mixed-signal integrated circuit design and manufacturing

Jian Zhao, Rutgers University, Piscataway, NJ, USA for contributions to vertical silicon carbide devices and process technologies

Hiroshi Iwai 2009 EDS Fellows Chair Tokyo Institute of Technology Yokohama, Japan