Steve Ringel

Fundamentals and New Concepts


Ohio State University
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
2015 Neil Avenue
Columbus OH 43210

Phone: +1 614 292 6904
    Fax: +1 614 292 9562

Steven A. Ringel (SM97) was born in New Brunswick, NJ.  He received the PhD degree from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1991, after receiving the MS and BS degrees from the Pennsylvania State University in 1986 and 1984, respectively.

Dr. Ringel joined The Ohio State University as an assistant professor in 1991, was promoted to associate professor in 1997 and to full professor in 2000.  In 2004 he was named as the Neal A. Smith Endowed Chair Professor of Electrical Engineering, and in 2006 he became director of the Ohio State Institute for Materials Research.  Dr. Ringel’s research efforts are currently focused on advanced compound semiconductor photovoltaics, lattice-mismatched epitaxy, III-V/Si integration, defect engineering in heterostructures and defect characterization in a wide variety of semiconductors, particularly as applied to wide bandgap semiconductors such as GaN-based materials and devices, and generally to various metamorphic heterostructures. In these areas, Dr. Ringel has authored or co-authored more than 250 journal articles and conference proceedings and given more than 85 invited talks to date.

Among his recognitions, Prof. Ringel received an National Science Foundation National Young Investigator Award in 1994, the Ohio State University Harrison Award for Excellence in Engineering Education and Research in 1999, six best paper awards, he is a Fellow of AAAS, he is an Associate Fellow of AIAA, he is a member of several academic, industrial and professional society boards and he has been involved with organizing conferences for many years, including the IEEE Photovoltaic Specialists Conference, the TMS Electronic Materials Conference, various symposia of the annual meetings of the Materials Research Society and the Electrochemical Society.  Dr. Ringel is a co-founder of 4Power LLC, a startup company in photovoltaic technology, and he currently serves the IEEE as the chair of the EDS Photovoltaics Technical Committee.  Dr. Ringel was chair of the joint EDS-LEOS chapter of the Columbus IEEE section from 1992-2006.