Ken Uchida

Emerging Technologies and Devices


Keio University
Electrical & Electronics Engineering 3-14-1 Hiyoshi Kohoku
Yokohama 223-8522
Phone: 81 45 566 1761
    Fax: 81 45 566 1761







Ken Uchida was born in Cambridge, MA in 1971. He received B.S. degree in physics, M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in applied physics all from the University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan, in 1993, 1995, and 2002, respectively. In 1995, he joined the Research and Development Center, Toshiba Corporation, Kawasaki, Japan. He has studied carrier transport in nanoscale devices such as Single-Electron Devices, Schottky source/drain MOSFETs, Ultrathin-body SOI MOSFETs, Strained Silicon MOSFETs, Carbon Nanotube Transistors, and (110) Si MOSFETs. He developed the physics-based compact model of single-electron transistors and the design scheme of single-electron logic circuits. He proposed and demonstrated single-electron random number generator for cryptographic applications. He investigated the physical mechanisms of mobility enhancement in uniaxial stressed MOSFETs, and clarified the importance of the stress-induced effective mass change along direction. He experimentally demonstrated the effectiveness of subband structure engineering in ultrathin-body SOI MOSFETs. He showed an impact of non-parabolic energy band structure on the characteristics of (110) Si MOSFETs. In 2008, he moved to Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo, Japan, as an associate professor, where he worked on properties of shallow impurities in nanostructures and modeling of deformation potential in nanoscaled silicon. In 2012, he moved to Keio University, Yokohama, Japan, as a full professor.

Dr. Uchida is a member of the Japan Society of Applied Physics and IEEE Electron Devices Society. He won the 2003 IEEE EDS Paul Rappaport Award for his work on single-electron devices, 2005 Young Scientist Award from Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology of Japan, and Marubun research and encouragement award in 2001. He served as a subcommittee member (2005, 2006) as well as the subcommittee chair (2007) of Solid-State & Nanoelectronic Devices (SSN) subcommittee of IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM). He has been a program committee member of IEEE Silicon Nanoelectronics Workshop (SNW), IEEE European Solid-State Device Research Conference (ESSDERC), IEEE International Reliability Physics Symposium (IRPS). He was a Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE Solid-State Circuit Society (SSCS) in 2007 and 2008.