Rüdiger Quay

Compound Semiconductor Devices
Solid-State Power and High Voltage Devices

Fraunhofer Institute of Applied Solid-State Physics (IAF)
Tullastr 72
D-79108 Freiburg

Phone: 49 761 5169 843
Fax:      49 761 5159 565

ruediger.quay@iaf.fraunhofer.de, ruediger.quay@ieee.org


Rüdiger Quay (M 99, SM 2010) received the Diplom-degree in physics from Rheinisch-Westfälische Technische Hochschule (RWTH), Aachen, Germany, in 1997, and a second Diplom in economics in 2003. In 2001 he received his doctoral degree in technical sciences (with honours) from the Technische Universität Wien, Vienna, Austria. In 2009 he received the venia legendi (habilitation) in microelectronics, again from the Technische Universität Wien.  In 2001 he joint the Fraunhofer Institute of Applied Solid-State Physics Freiburg, Germany where he first worked as a project leader in the development of 100 Gbit/s ETDM circuits based on InP HBTs, later as a group leader of RF-devices and circuit characterisation group working on mm-wave RF-devices and high-power devices and ICs. Currently he is deputy head of the business field Gallium Nitride RF-power electronics with the Fraunhofer. Since 2011 he is also a lecturer at the IMTEK, Albert-Ludwig University, Freiburg, Germany. Dr. Quay has authored and coauthored over 150 refereed publications and two monographs. He holds two patents. Dr. Quay was the co-receipient of the best paper awards of the European Microwave Integrated Circuit Conference (EUMIC) in 2004, 2005, and 2006, and of the European Microwave Conference in 2012. In 2003-2004 he was a member of the IEDM technical committee on compound semiconductors, which he chaired in 2005. Since 2009 he is also serving in the TPRC of the MTT International Microwave Symposium and in the TPC of the European Solid-State Circuits Conference (ESSCIRC). Dr. Quay is chairman of MTT-6, Microwave and Millimeter Wave Integrated Circuits, and since 2012, he is also a member of the IEEE Electron device society compound semiconductor subcommittee. Since 2011 he is further an associate editor of the International Journal of Microwave and Wireless Technologies. He has been on the golden list of reviewers for EDL since 2004.