Lalit Kumar

Vacuum Electronics

kumar l

Metcalfe House
Mahtma Gandhi Road
Delhi 100054

Phone: 91 11 23817202,
                91 9483570719 (M)


Dr. Lalit Kumar received his Ph.D. (Physics) from Birla Institute of Technology & Science Pilani. ¬†He is the Chairman, Centre for Personnel Talent Management (CEPTAM), DRDO, Delhi dealing with Technical & Admin/Allied talent management. ¬†He was the Director of Microwave Tube Research and Development Centre, Bangalore, (2003-15); ¬†Senior Scientist at Central Electronics Engineering Research Institute, Pilani; DAAD Research Fellow in Germany at University of Tuebingen, Tuebingen, Technical University of Hamburg‚ÄďHarburg and Philips, Hamburg; Honorary Visiting Research Fellow at Lancaster University; AICTE-INAE Distinguished Visiting Professor at IT, BHU, Varanasi. ¬†He attended Executive Education Programmes at: IIMs at Bangalore & Ahmedabad; NIAS, Bangalore and JF Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, Cambridge.

He contributed towards indigenous development of microwave devices like: coaxial magnetron, helix- and coupled-cavity-traveling wave tubes, multi-beam klystron, vircator  relativistic magnetron, microwave power modules,   Gyrotron; and analysis & computer-aided design codes for: electron guns, depressed collectors, slow-wave structures and magnetic focussing systems.  He has coordinated several inter-laboratory and international collaborative projects.  His current interests include: TWTs, high power microwaves, and vacuum microelectronic devices.

He received the DRDO Agni Award for Excellence in Self-Reliance ‚Äď 2003 & 2013, 37th IETE Ram Lal Wadhwa Award & Gold Medal, IETE-IRSI (83)-2001 Award, JC Bose Memorial Award of IETE for Best Paper -1993, and Best Project Award of CEERI-1993. He is a Fellow of Indian National Academy of Engineering, Fellow of IETE, Fellow and Founder President of Vacuum Electron Devices and Applications (VEDA) Society, India, Senior Member of IEEE; Editor of the IEEE Trans. on Electron Devices, and Indian Physics Association, Indian Vacuum Society, Indo‚ÄďFrench Technical Association, Magnetics Society of India and Indian Science Congress Association.¬† He was General Chair of IEEE-IVEC-2011, Bangalore, India.