T-ED 60th Anniversary

An Anniversary to Celebrate!

As the flagship journal of the IEEE Electron Devices Society, the IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices (T-ED to most of us) has enjoyed for decades, and continues to enjoy, a stellar reputation in the device community. As you may or may not be aware, January 2013 was the 50th anniversary of the IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices, and February 2014 will be the 60th anniversary of its predecessor from which it was birthed, the IRE Transactions on Electron Devices. Hip, hip, hooray!  So, we thought it would be a fitting time to reflect a bit on T-ED's many accomplishments.

Yes, sixty years is a long time, and a great many things of interest to the world of electron devices have transpired over that period. We have selected some important milestones from our community's shared history, things we think you will enjoy knowing, including: I) the Paul Rappaport Award Winners since its inception (the top papers selected each year since 1982 by the T-ED Editorial Board), II) the top-25 most downloaded T-ED papers, III) a listing of the T-ED Editor-in-Chiefs (EiCs), those fearless leaders of T-ED, and finally a real treat, IV) some personal reflections by some of those EiCs on their tenure at the helm.

All this can be found in a commemorative Editorial, published in the December 2013 Edition of T-ED.

As the Editors-in-Chief of T-ED, the following deserve our sincerest thanks and gratitude for their dedication and service to the Society. They truly embody the EDS mission of promoting excellence in the field of electron devices for the benefit of humanity.

  • John S. Saby, January 1954 - December 1954
  • Earl L. Steele,  January 1955 - September 1961
  • Glen Wade,  October 1961 - April 1971
  • John A. Copeland, May 1971 - January 1974
  • Roland H. Haitz,  February 1974 - July 1977
  • Karl H. Zaininger,    August 1977 - March 1979
  • Stephen K. Knight, April 1979 - February 1983
  • David L. Carter, March 1983 - May 1987
  • Serge Luryi, June 1987 - January 1990
  • Renuka Jindal, February 1990 - December 2000
  • Douglas P. Verret, January 2001 - December 2011
  • John D. Cressler, January 2012 - Present