Compound Semiconductor Devices and Circuits Committee


  • Compound Semiconductor Devices & Circuits Committee Chair

    • Patrick Fay
       - Compound Semiconductor Devices
      University of Notre Dame
      Department of Electrical Engineering
      261 Fitzpatrick Hall
      Notre Dame, IN 46556
      Phone 1:
      (574) 631-5693

      Email 1:

      Patrick Fay received a B.S. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Notre Dame in 1991, followed by the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in 1993 and 1996, respectively. He joined the faculty of the Department of Electrical Engineering at the University of Notre Dame in 1997, where he currently a professor as well as the director of the Notre Dame Nanofabrication Facility. His research interests include the design, fabrication, and characterization of III-V microwave and millimeter-wave electronic devices and circuits, power devices, and high-speed optoelectronic devices and optoelectronic integrated circuits. His research also includes the development and use of micromachining techniques for the fabrication of microwave and millimeter-wave components and packaging. Prof. Fay was awarded the Department of Electrical Engineering’s Outstanding Teacher award in 1998 and 2018, and Notre Dame's College of Engineering’s Outstanding Teacher award in 2015. He is a fellow of the IEEE, and Electron Device Society Distinguished Lecturer, and serves as an associate editor of the IEEE Transactions on Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology, IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices, and IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques.

      Prof. Fay’s lecture topics include:
      - III-N Nanowire FETs for Low-Power Applications
      - Vertical GaN Devices and Epitaxial Lift-Off Processing for High Performance Power Applications
      - Advanced Tunneling-Based Devices for mm-Wave Sensing and Imaging
  • Compound Semiconductor Devices & Circuits Committee Members

    • Srabanti Chowdhury
      UC Davis
    • Jae Kyeong Jeong
      Hanyang University
      Department of Electronic Engineering
    • Jiyoung Kim
      The University of Texas at Dallas
      Materials Science and Engineering
    • Ioannis (John) Kymissis
       - Molecular and Organic Devices
      Columbia University
      Electrical Engineering
      500 W120th Street Room 1300/MC 4712
      New York, NY 10027
      Phone 1:

      Phone 2

      Ioannis (John) Kymissis is an electrical engineer teaching at Columbia University. His area of specialization is solid state electronics and device fabrication, with an emphasis on thin film devices and the use of organic semiconductors in his work. He graduated with his SB, M.Eng., and Ph.D. degrees from MIT, and after working as a post-doc and at QDVison, joined the faculty at Columbia University in 2006. John has won a number of awards for his work, including the NSF CAREER award, the IEEE EDS Paul Rappaport award, the Vodaphone Americas Foundation Wireless Innovation Award, and the MIT Clean Energy Prize. He is currently serving as the editor-in-chief of the Journal of the Society for Information Display and is the general chair for the 2013 Device Research Conference.
    • Xiuling Li
    • Xiaoyan Liu
      Peking University
      Institute of Microelectronics
    • Gaudenzio Meneghesso
       - Compound Semiconductor Devices
      University of Padova
      Department of Information Engineering
      Via Gradenigo 6/B
      Padova 35131
      Phone 1:
      +1 390498277653

      +1 390498277699
      Gaudenzio Meneghesso (IEEE S’95–M’97–SM’07- F’13)
      He graduated in Electronics Engineering at the University of Padova in 1992 working on the failure mechanism induced by hot-electrons in MESFETs and HEMTs. He received the Italian Telecom award for his thesis work in 1993. In 1995 he was at the University of Twente (The Netherland) with a Human Capital and Mobility fellowship (within the SUSTAIN Network) working on the dynamic behavior of protection structures against ESD. In 1997 he received the Ph.D. degree in Electrical and Telecommunication Engineering from the University of Padova working on hot-electron characterization, effects and reliability of GaAs-based and InP-based HEMT's and pseudomorphic HEMT's. Since 2011 is with University of Padova as Full Professor.
      His research interests involves mainly the Electrical characterization, modeling and reliability of several semiconductors devices: a) microwave and optoelectronics devices on III-V and III-N; b) RF-MEMS switches for reconfigurable antenna arrays; c) Electrostatic discharge (ESD) protection structures for CMOS and SMART POWER integrated circuits including ElectroMagnetic interference issues; d) organic semiconductors devices; e) photovoltaic solar cells based on various materials.
      Within these activities he published more than 600 technical papers (of which more than 80 Invited Papers and 10 best paper awards). He is reviewer of several international journals: IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices, IEEE Electron Device Letters, IEE Electronics Letters, Journal of Applied Physics, Applied Physics Letters and Semiconductor Science and Technology (IOP), Microelectronics Reliability (Elsevier).
      He served several years for the IEEE-International Electron Device Meeting (IEDM): he was in the Quantum Electronics and Compound Semiconductors sub-committee as a member in 2003, as chair in 2004 and 2005 while in 2006 and 2007 he has been in the Executive Committee as European Arrangements Chair. He is serving since 2009 in the management Committee of the IEEE International Reliability Physics (IRPS) Symposium. He is (or has been) in the steering committee of several European conferences: European Solid State Device Conference (ESSDERC), European Symposium on Reliability of Electron Devices, Failure Physics and Analysis (ESREF), Heterostructures Technology Workshop (HETECH), Workshop on Compound Semiconductors Devices and Integrated Circuits held in Europe (WOCSDICE), Workshop on Compound Semiconductor Materials and Devices (WOCSEMMAD). In 2010 He entered in the IEEE EDS Adcom on different subcommittee. He has been nominated to IEEE Fellow, with the following citation: “ for contributions to the reliability physics of compound semiconductors devices”.
    • Yasuyuki Miyamoto
    • Sean Rommel
      Rochester Institute of Technology
      82 Lomb Memorial Drive
      Rochester, NY 14623-5604
    • Uttam Singisetti