Electronic Materials Committee

Committee Objective:

The power consumption is the crucial challenge for electronic devices. The high-κ dielectrics, metal gate, and high mobility materials have made strong impacts on high-performance low-power CMOS, DRAM, and flash memory. The objectives of this committee are to explore new and useful electronic materials for ultra-low-power Steep Turn-On CMOS, novel DRAM, Non-Volatile Memory, Energy-Saving devices, Display, and other electronic devices. To promote new technology, the committee will organize or recommend special issues for IEEE journals, panel sessions, and session topics for major conferences.

  • Electronic Materials Committee Chair

    • Paul Berger
       - Fellow
      Paul Berger portrait
      The Ohio State University
      205 Dreese Laboratory, 2015 Neil Avenue
      Columbus, OH 43210
      United States of America
      Phone 1:
      (614) 247-6235

      (614) 292-7596
      Lecture Topics: In 2011, he was established as an IEEE Distinguished Lecturer for EDS. Please contact him directly if you are interested in a seminar: Possible seminar topics include:
      (1) Organic Photovoltaics;
      (2) Quantum Tunneling Electronics;
      (3) Passive Millimeter-Wave Imaging Sensors;
      (4) Plastic SmartCards for IoT

      Paul R. Berger (S’84 M’91 SM’97 F’11) is a Professor in Electrical & Computer Engineering at Ohio State University and Physics (by Courtesy). He is also a Distinguished Visiting Professor at Tampere University of Technology in Finland. He received the B.S.E. in engineering physics, and the M.S.E. and Ph.D. (1990) in electrical engineering, respectively, all from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor. Currently, Dr. Berger is actively working on quantum tunneling devices, printable semiconductor devices & circuits for IoT, bioelectronics, novel devices, novel semiconductors and applied physics.
      Formerly, he worked at Bell Laboratories, Murray Hill, NJ (1990-’92) and taught at the University of Delaware in Electrical and Computer Engineering (1992-2000). In 1999, Prof. Berger took a sabbatical leave while working first at the Max-Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Mainz, Germany while supported by Prof. Dr. Gerhard Wegner and then moved on to Cambridge Display Technology, Ltd., Cambridge, United Kingdom working under Dr. Jeremy Burroughes. In 2008, Prof. Berger spent an extended sabbatical leave at IMEC (Interuniversity Microelectronics Center) in Leuven, Belgium while appointed as a Visiting Professor in the Department of Metallurgy and Materials Engineering, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium. And more recently he took a sabbatical leave in 2015-2016 at Tampere University of Technology with the Prof. Don Lupo in the Printed and Organic Electronics Group.
      He has authored over 110 articles, 5 book sections and been issued 22 patents with 6 more pending from 60+ disclosures with a Google Scholar H-index of 33. Some notable recognitions for Dr. Berger were an NSF CAREER Award (1996), a DARPA ULTRA Sustained Excellence Award (1998), a Lumley Research Award (2006, 2011), a Faculty Diversity Excellence Award (2009) and Outstanding Engineering Educator for State of Ohio (2014). He has been on the Program and Advisory Committees of numerous conferences, including the IEDM, ISDRS, EDTM meetings. He currently is the Chair of the Columbus IEEE EDS/Photonics Chapter and Faculty Advisor to Ohio State’s IEEE Student Chapters. He is a Fellow and Distinguished Lecturer of IEEE EDS and a Senior member of Optical Society of America.
  • Electronic Materials Committee Members

    • Xinhong Cheng
    • Zhiyuan Charles Cheng
       - Prof.
      Zhiyuan Charles Cheng portrait placeholder
      Zhejiang University
    • Barbara De Salvo
      Barbara De Salvo portrait placeholder
      17, Avenue des Martyrs, 38054 Grenoble Cedex 9
    • Muhammad Mustafa Hussain
       - MOS Devices and Technology
      Muhammad Mustafa Hussain portrait
      Senior Member
      King Abdullah University of Science and Technology
      3824 Yarborough Ave
      Austin, TX 78744
      Phone 1:
      +1 (512) 351-3527

      Muhammad Mustafa Hussain (PhD, ECE, UT Austin, Dec 2005) is a Professor of the Electrical Engineering Program of King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Saudi Arabia. Before joining KAUST in August of 2009, he was Program Manager of Emerging Technology Program in SEMATECH, Austin where his program was supported by all the major semiconductor industries and US DARPA. He is a Fellow of American Physical Society (APS) and Institute of Physics, UK. He is also an IEEE EDS Distinguished Lecturer, Editor-in-Chief of Applied Nanoscience (Springer-Nature), Editor of IEEE T-ED, and an IEEE Senior Member. He has 250+ research papers (including 25 invited reviews, 30 cover articles), 50+ issued and pending US patents. His students are serving as faculty and researchers in MIT Media Lab, UC Berkeley, Caltech, Harvard, UCLA, Yale, Purdue, TSMC, KACST, KFUPM, KAU, Jeddah University and DOW Chemicals. Scientific American has listed his research as one of the Top 10 World Changing Ideas of 2014. Applied Physics Letters selected his paper as the Top Feature Article of 2015. He has received 40 research awards including IEEE Region 5 Outstanding Individual Achievement Award 2016, World Technology Network Award Finalist in Health and Medicine 2016, Outstanding Young Texas Exes Award 2015 (UT Austin Alumni Award), US National Academies’ Arab-American Frontiers of Sensors 2015 and 2016, DOW Chemical Sustainability Challenge Award 2012, etc. He has given more than 200 invited talks and has been highlighted extensively in the international media. His passion is to empower humanity with accessible and innovative electronic technologies.
    • Francesca Iacopi
      Francesca Iacopi portrait placeholder
    • M Zafar Iqbal
    • Jeehwan Kim
      Jeehwan Kim portrait placeholder
    • Jong-Ho Lee
      Jong-Ho Lee portrait placeholder
      Seoul National University
      Department of ECE
      Seoul 151-600Korea
      Phone 1:

    • Atsushi Ogura
    • Jorg Schulze
       - Prof.
      Jorg Schulze portrait placeholder
      Director of IHT
      University of Stuttgart
      Stuttgart Germany
    • Alex See
       - Director
      Alex See portrait placeholder
      Advanced Module Technology Development
      Globalfoundries Singapore Pte. Ltd.
      Woodlands Industrial Park D
      Street 2
      +65 6670 2801

      +65 9237 6957

    • Anshul Vyas
    • Peide Ye
      Peide Ye portrait placeholder
      Purdue University