Nanotechnology Committee

The committee on Nanotechnology was founded in December of 2000 to chart future directions for the Electron Devices Society in the growing field of nanoelectronic devices and technology. Publications of the Electron Devices Society, particularly the IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices and the Electron Device Letters, have long featured papers on nanoelectronics and nanotechnology. It is the purpose of this committee on Nanotechnology to consider new ways to encourage and highlight this emerging field in the Electron Devices Society and IEEE.

  • Nanotechnology Committee Chair

    • Navakanta Bhat
      Indian Institute of Science
      Brief bio:
      Navakanta Bhat received his Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University, in 1996. Then he worked at Motorola’s Advanced Products R&D Lab in Austin, TX until 1999. He is currently a Professor at the Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore. His current research is on Nanoelectronics and Sensors. He has more than 200 publications and 20 patents. He was instrumental in creating the National Nanofabrication Centre (NNfC) at IISc, benchmarked against the best university facilities in the world. He is the recipient of IBM Faculty award and Outstanding Research Investigator award (Govt. of India). He is a Fellow of INAE. He was the Editor of IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices, during 2013-2016. He is the member of the National Innovation Council in Nanoelectronics. He is the founder and promoter of a startup called “PathShodh Healthcare”, which builds point-of-care diagnostics for diabetes and its complications.

      Distinguished Lecturer Topics:
      1. Nanotransistors with 2D materials : Opportunities and Challenges

      2. Electrochemical Biosensors for managing Diabetes and its Complications

      3. Single Chip Metal Oxide Gas Sensor Array for Environment Monitoring

      4. Nanostructured High Performance Gas sensors
  • Nanotechnology Committee Members

    • Gengchiau Liang
    • Stanislav Moshkalev
      State University of Campinas

      Stanislav A. Moshkalev (M`99) received the B.S. and M.S. degree in quantum electronics from St. Petersburg Polytechnic University, St. Petersburg, Russia, in 1975 and the Ph.D. degree in physics and chemistry of plasmas from A.F. Ioffe Physical-Technical Institute, Russian Academy of Sciences, St. Petersburg, Russia, in 1984.

      Since 1984, he held research positions in several scientific institutions in Russia, UK and Brazil. Since 1999, he has been a Researcher and since 2010, an Associate Director of the Center for Semiconductor Components, at the UNICAMP - State University of Campinas, Brazil. He is the coeditor of one book, and the author of more than 65 articles, and 5 inventions. His research interests include micro and nanofabrication and characterization, synthesis and characterization of carbon nanotubes and graphene, quantum dots, processing by focused ion, electron and laser beams, AFM, Raman spectroscopy, plasmas for etching and deposition, lithography, thin films, chemical, optical and bio sensors with ultralow power consumption, MEMS and NEMS, microfluidics, novel electron devices (memory, phototransistors, sensors) based on nanostructured carbon materials.

      Dr. Moshkalev is a member of IEEE, Brazilian Physical Society, Brazilian Microelectronics Society, and Brazilian Carbon Association. He is currently a coordinator of the Cooperative Research Network in Nanoinstrumentation (Brazil, CNPq - National R&D Council) and of the Associated Nanotechnology Laboratory of the Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovations (Brazil). Dr. Moshkalev’s awards and honors include the Researcher Fellowship from CNPq and the Distinguished Visiting Researcher Fellowship from IRCEP (the Queen´s University of Belfast, UK).


    • Iriya Muneta
    • Bipin Rajendran
    • James Teherani
    • Youngki Yoon
    • Massimo de Vittorio

Nanotechnology Council Website