Optoelectronic Devices Committee

  • Optoelectronic Devices Committee Chair

    • John Dallesasse
       - Associate Professor
      Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
      University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
      2114 Micro and Nanotechnology Laboratory
      208 N. Wright Street
      Urbana, IL 61801
      (217) 333-8416

  • Optoelectronic Devices Committee Members

    • Ethan Ahn
    • Can Bayram
       - Optoelectronic Devices
      Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
      University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
      Urbana 61801
      United States
      Phone 1:
      +1 (847) 863--6991

      Phone 2
      +1 (217) 300-0978

      Prof. Can Bayram is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering of University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, IL, USA. He is an expert in III-V materials and photonic and electronic devices. He has performed more than 3,000+ epitaxial growths with metalorganic chemical vapor deposition (MOCVD) systems and fabricated detectors, light emitting diodes, solar cells, resonant tunneling diodes, and transistors in class 100 and 1000 cleanrooms totaling 20,000+ hrs equipment usage. His current research interests lie in the intersection of novel III-V materials, hetero-structures, and photonic and electronic quantum devices. Particularly, his research group explores novel materials, devices, and their 3D hetero-integration on unconventional platforms such as graphene and silicon and investigates heat transport across/through semiconductors; efficiency droop mechanisms and remedies in AlInGaN emitters; and ultra-fast THz photonics/electronics. Prof. Bayram’s work has been recognized widely. He is the recipient of the 2018 IUPAP Young Scientist Prize in Optics, 2018 IEEE Nanotechnology Council Early Career Award, a 2018 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Research for Assistant Professor, a 2018 Turkish American Scientists & Scholars Association Young Scholar Award, a 2017 NSF CAREER Award, the 2017 CS Mantech Best Student Paper Award, a 2016 AFOSR Young Investigator Award, the 2014 IEEE Electron Devices Society Early Career Award, and the Best Paper Award at the 11th International Conference on Infrared Optoelectronics. For his achievements in ultraviolet-to-terahertz engineering of III-V semiconductor materials and devices, OSA, SPIE, and IEEE recognized him with senior member status.

      Prof. Bayram worked as a Postdoctoral Research Scientist in the Silicon Technologies Division at the IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY, USA from 2011 till 2014. His postdoctoral work at IBM on a novel means of thin film technology achieved record-breaking specific power solar cells and was featured on the cover of Advanced Energy Materials. He has – for the first time – integrated GaN-based devices on CMOS-compatible silicon substrates. This work was highlighted as the frontispiece in the Advanced Functional Materials issue. He demonstrated direct epitaxy of GaN on Graphene for the first time, as published in Nature Communications.

      Prof. Bayram received the Ph.D. degree from Prof. Manijeh Razeghi, Center for Quantum Devices, EECS of Northwestern University, IL, USA with a focus on Solid State and Photonics in 2011. His thesis work has demonstrated the first ultraviolet regime single photon detection, the first hybrid LED, and the first GaN intersubband devices. He received IEEE Electron Devices and IEEE Photonics Societies’ fellowship awards and the Laser Technology, Engineering and Applications Award from SPIE. He was an IBM and Link Foundation PhD fellow and the recipient of Boeing Engineering and Dow Sustainability Innovation awards.
    • Sasan Fathpour
    • Gang Li
    • Joyce Poon
    • Shyh-Chiang Shen
    • Juzer Vasi
      Department of Electrical Engineering
      Indian Institute of Technology
      Bombay, Mumbai 400076
      Juzer Vasi is with the EE Department at the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (IITB), Mumbai. He has worked in in the areas of CMOS and Photovoltaic devices. He was co-founder of the National Centre for Photovoltaic Research and Education (NCPRE) at IITB, and is the Research Thrust Co-Lead for the Solar Energy Research Institute for India and the US (SERIIUS), a bi-national consortium project. His current area of research is photovoltaic module reliability.
      He is a Fellow of the IEEE and the Indian National Academy of Engineering (INAE). He was an Editor of IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices from 1996 to 2003, an EDS Distinguished Lecturer from 2001 to 2006, and Chair of the EDS Asia-Pacific SRC from 2005 to 2006.
      He obtained the B.Tech. degree in Electrical Engineering from IITB and a Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University.
    • Kaikai Xu
       - Professor
      University of Electronic Science and Technology of China
      State Key Laboratory of Electronic Thin Films and Integrated Devices
      No. 4, Section 2, North Jianshe Road
      Chengdu 610054
      Phone 1:

      Kaikai Xu received the B.S. degree from the University of Electronic Science and Technology of China (UESTC), Chengdu, China, and the Ph.D. degree from the University of California at Irvine (UCI), USA, in collaboration with the California Institute for Telecommunications and Information Technology. Currently, he is an Associate Professor with the University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, Chengdu, China, and is a Distinguished Professor (1000-Talents Program) of Sichuan Province, China. He is also on the Technical Advisory Board for the International System-on-Chip (SoC) Conference, Exhibit & Workshops (SOC Irvine) and serves on the editorial board for Microelectronics Journal.
      His research interest includes semiconductor devices and analog CMOS IC design, especial on the subject of characterization, parameter extraction and compact modeling of emerging semiconductor devices.