Flexible Electronics and Displays Committee

  • Flexible Electronics and Displays Members

    • Mike Banach
    • Yvan Bonnassieux
       - Prof.
      Ecole Polytechnique
    • Mario Caironi
       - Dr.
    • Ta-Ya Chu
    • Jin-Woo Han
    • Ioannis (John) Kymissis
       - Molecular and Organic Devices
      Columbia University
      Electrical Engineering
      500 W120th Street Room 1300/MC 4712
      New York, NY 10027
      Phone 1:

      Phone 2

      Ioannis (John) Kymissis is an electrical engineer teaching at Columbia University. His area of specialization is solid state electronics and device fabrication, with an emphasis on thin film devices and the use of organic semiconductors in his work. He graduated with his SB, M.Eng., and Ph.D. degrees from MIT, and after working as a post-doc and at QDVison, joined the faculty at Columbia University in 2006. John has won a number of awards for his work, including the NSF CAREER award, the IEEE EDS Paul Rappaport award, the Vodaphone Americas Foundation Wireless Innovation Award, and the MIT Clean Energy Prize. He is currently serving as the editor-in-chief of the Journal of the Society for Information Display and is the general chair for the 2013 Device Research Conference.
    • Ling Li
       - Prof.
      Institute of Microelectronics, CAS
    • Arokia Nathan
       - Fellow
      Cambridge University Centre for Advanced Photonics and Electronics
      Electrical Engineering Division
      9, JJ Thomson Avenue
      Cambridge CB3 0FA
      United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
      Phone 1:
      +44 1223 748302

      +44 1223 748322
      Arokia Nathan holds the Professorial Chair of Photonic Systems and Displays in the Department of Engineering, Cambridge University. He received his PhD in Electrical Engineering from the University of Alberta. Following post-doctoral years at LSI Logic Corp., USA and ETH Zurich, Switzerland, he joined the University of Waterloo where he held the DALSA/NSERC Industrial Research Chair in sensor technology and subsequently the Canada Research Chair in nano-scale flexible circuits. He was a recipient of the 2001 NSERC E.W.R. Steacie Fellowship. In 2006, he moved to the UK to take up the Sumitomo Chair of Nanotechnology at the London Centre for Nanotechnology, University College London, where he received the Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit Award. He has held Visiting Professor appointments at the Physical Electronics Laboratory, ETH Zürich and the Engineering Department, Cambridge University, UK. He has published over 500 papers in the field of sensor technology and CAD, and thin film transistor electronics, and is a co-author of four books. He has over 50 patents filed/awarded and has founded/co-founded four spin-off companies. He serves on technical committees and editorial boards in various capacities. He is a Chartered Engineer (UK), Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology (UK), Fellow of IEEE (USA), and an IEEE/EDS Distinguished Lecturer.
    • Tse Nga (Tina) Ng
       - Prof.
      University of California
      San Diego, CaliforniaUSA
    • Yong-Young Noh
       - Molecular and Organic Devices
      Dongguk University
      Energy and Materials Engineering
      26 Pil-dong 3-ga Jung-gu
      Seoul 100-715
      Phone 1:
      82 2 2260 4974

      Prof. Yong-Young Noh is Associate Professor in the Department of Energy and Materials Engineering at Dongguk University in Seoul, Republic of Korea. He received Ph.D. in 2005 at GIST and then worked at the Cavendish Laboratory as a post-doc. (2005 – 2007). After then he worked in ETRI as a senior researcher (2008 – 2009) and in Hanbat National University as an assistant professor (2010 – 2012). Prof. Noh has been published more than 150 SCI papers and 40 patents and awarded Merck Young Scientist Award (2013), Korean President Award (2014), IEEE George E. Smith Award (2014) and the author of book entitled “Large Area Flexible Electronics” (John-Wiley VCH). His expertise is in the organic and molecular electronics, printed electronics, and flexible electronics.
    • Simon Ogier
       - Dr.
      NeuDrive Ltd.
      United Kingdom
    • Radu Sporea
    • Chee Keong Benjamin Tee
  • Flexible Electronics and Displays Committee Chair

    • Xiaojun Guo
       - Optoelectronics, Display, Imaging
      Shanghai Jiao Tong University
      Electronic Engineering, SEIEE 1-208
      800 Dongchuan Rd
      Minhang, Shanghai 200240
      Phone 1:
      86 21 34207260

      86 21 34207260
      Xiaojun Guo is now Professor in Department of Electronic Engineering at Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China. He received the Bachelor degree from Jilin University (China) in 2002, and the Ph.D. degree from University of Surrey (UK) in 2007, both in electronic engineering. He worked on EDA for VLSIs in Department of Electronic Engineering at Tsinghua University during 2002-2003. His PhD research was on system-on-panel integration with low-temperature poly-Si TFTs. Before joining Shanghai Jiao Tong University in Aug. 2009, he had been working in Plastic Logic Ltd., Cambridge, UK, on research and development of printed polymer TFTs backplanes for flexible displays, and technology transfer for manufacturing. His group at Shanghai Jiao Tong University is now focusing on device and integration of printable thin film transistors and functional devices including displays, sensors and memories. He has authored or co-authored more than 60 technical papers in international journals and conference.