Microelectromechanical Systems Committee

  • Microelectromechanical Systems Committee Chair

  • Microelectromechanical Systems Committee Members

    • Roger Booth
    • Christofer Hierold
      ETH Zurich
      Micro and Nanosystems
      Office: CLA G9/G7
      Tannenstrasse 3
      Zurich CH-8092
      Phone 1:
      +41 44 6323143

      +41 44 63 21462
      Email 1:

      J-MEMS Administrative Assistant:

      Research Areas: Functional nanomaterials in MEMS and NEMS (e.g. carbon nanotube sensors, ultra low power sensors), Polymer microsystems (e.g. magnetic polymers, biodegradable polymers), Advanced MEMS (e.g. micro thermoelectric generators, large deflection actuators by polymer springs in MEMS), Fabrication technology (integration of functional nanomaterials on larger areas)

      Professional Memberships: IEEE/EDS

      Biography: Christofer Hierold has been Professor of Micro and Nanosystems at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETH) since April 2002. Further, he is Executive Coordinator ETH Zurich of the Binnig and Rohrer Nanotechnology Center (BRNC) at Ruschlikon. Before he joined ETH Zurich in 2002 he was with Siemens AG, Corporate Research, and Infineon Technologies AG in Germany. In 1990 he graduated from Technical University Munich (TUM) with a Dr.-Ing. Degree in Engineering Sciences.

      Christofer Hierold is Co-Chair of the Steering Committee of the EUROSENSORS conference, and a member of the Steering Committees of both MEMS and TRANSDUCERS. He served as General Co-Chair of MEMS 2009, and is Program Chair of TRANSDUCERS 2013. Professor Hierold is a member of the Swiss Academy of Engineering Sciences (SATW).

    • Ellis Meng
    • Mina Rais-Zadeh
      Associate Professor
      University of Michigan
      1301 Beal Ave
      Ann Arbor, MI 48109

      Research Areas: Electron devices for wireless communication and sensing applications and the related device physics, Resonant Sensors: e.g. uncooled infrared detectors, Gallium nitride MEMS and microsystems

      Professional Memberships: IEEE EDS

      Biography: Mina Rais-Zadeh received the B.S. degree in electrical engineering from Sharif University of Technology and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees both in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Georgia Institute of Technology in 2005 and 2008, respectively. From August 2008 to 2009, she was a Postdoctoral Research Fellow at Georgia Institute of Technology. Since January 2009, she has been with the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, where she is currently an Associate Professor in the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science.

      Dr. Rais-Zadeh is the recipient of the NSF CAREER Award (2011), IEEE Electron Device Society Early Career Award (2011), NASA Early Career Faculty Award (2012), the Crosby Research Award from the University of Michigan (2013), National Academy of Engineering Frontiers of Engineering (2013), and ONR Young Investigator Award (2014). Together with her students, she received the best poster award at the Transducers conference (2013), the best paper award at the IEEE SiRF conference (2014), honorable mention at the IEEE IMS (2014), and was the finalist in student paper competitions at the SiRF (2007) and IMS (2011) conferences. She was the chairperson of the Display, Sensors and MEMS (DSM) sub-committee at the 2013 IEEE International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM) and is a member of the 2014 IEDM Executive Committee and 2015 IEEE MEMS Executive Committee. She is a senior member of IEEE and has served as a member of the technical program committee of IEEE IEDM (2011-2013), IEEE Sensors Conference (2011-2014), the Hilton Head workshop (2012, 2014), the IEEE MEMS Conference (2014-2015), Transducers (2015), and IFCS (2015). She is an associate editor of the IEEE Electron Device Letters. Her research interests include electron devices for wireless communication and sensing applications and the related device physics, resonant micromechanical devices, RF MEMS, gallium nitride MEMS, and micro/nano fabrication process development.

    • Sumant Sood
      Suss Microtec Inc.
      228 Suss Drive
      Waterbury Center, VA 05677
      Phone 1:
      +1 802 244 5181 Ext. 391

      +1 802 244 1348