Early Career Award

Early Career Award Committee


This EDS Early Career Award was established to promote, recognize, and support early career technical development within the Electron Devices Society's field of interest.  It is presented annually to honor an IEEE EDS member who has received his/her first professional degree (Bachelors) within the tenth year defined by the August 15th nomination deadline, making contributions in the field of interest of the IEEE Electron Devices Society. 

Please note:  The EDS Early Career Award cannot be given to a candidate for the same work for which an IEEE Technical Field Award, IEEE Medal, or other society level award was previously received.

The recipient is awarded a plaque and check for US$1,000, presented at the EDS Awards Dinner, which is held in conjunction with the International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM).  The nominator of the EDS Early Career Award candidate must be an IEEE EDS member.  The endorsers do not need to be IEEE EDS members.

Please complete and submit your online nomination form by 15 August to the EDS Executive Office. All endorsement letters should be sent directly to l.riello@ieee.org and received by the deadline date.



Congratulations to Harshit Agarwal & Max Shulaker, 2020 IEEE EDS Early Career Award Winners!



Early Career Award Winners


Harshit Agarwal

Max Shulaker

Indian Institute of Technology, Jodhpur, India

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA


Luisa Petti
Qianqian Huang
Pragya Kushwaha

Free University of Bolzano, Bolzano, Italy
Peking University, Beijing, China
University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA
2018 Lukas Czornomaz
Manan Suri
IBM, Zurich, Switzerland
Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India
2017 Dongil Moon
Shimeng Yu
NASA Ames Research Center, CA, USA
Arizona State University, AZ, USA
2016 Nagarajan Raghavan SUTD Singapore University of Technology & Design, Singapore
2015 Mayank Shrivastava Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
2014 Can Bayram University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2013 Runsheng Wang Peking University, Beijing, China
2012 Jin-Woo Han NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, CA, USA

Mina Rais-Zadeh

Ravi Todi

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor MI, USA

Western Digital Technologies, Foundry Technology Development, Milpitas, CA, USA

2010 Chen Yang University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA
2009 Chi On Chui University of California, Los Angeles, CA, USA