Education Award


Award Description:  To recognize distinguished contributions to education within the field of interest of the IEEE Electron Devices Society


Sponsor:  IEEE Electron Devices Society


Established:  2005


Scope:  To recognize distinguished contributions to education within the field of interest of the IEEE Electron Devices Society


Eligibility:  The recipient must be a distinguished educator affiliated with either an academic, industrial or government organization.


Prize: The award consists of a plaque and $2,500


Basis for judging:  Teaching awards, evaluations by students, curriculum and course development, effectiveness as an educator supported by a list of students who have become recognized for their contributions to electron devices, innovative undergraduate, graduate, industrial and government programs, textbooks, innovative continuing education programs, innovative industrial and government education programs, and participation and contributions to the EDS Distinguished Lecturer program.


Education Award Committee:  Committee


Nomination deadline: September 1st


Nomination form:


Carry Over Nominations:  Some nominations are requested to be carried over with the option to update nominations & endorsement letters


Presentation: Presented at the annual IEEE EDS Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM) or any of the EDS flagship conferences (EDTM, VLSI or PVSC).


Please note: The EDS Education Award cannot be given to a candidate for the same work for which an IEEE Technical Field Award, IEEE Medal, or other society level award was previously received.


Past Award Winners:  Winners


Congratulations to the 2022 IEEE EDS Education Award Winner, Ilesanmi Adesida

Education Award 2002 presentation 

Ilesanmi Adesida is an experienced academic administrator and is currently the University Provost at Nazarbayev University in Kazakhstan where he oversees the institution’s entire academic and research programs, including innovative strategic initiatives, awarding of research grants as well as overseeing the creation and implementation of quality assurance programs. Prior to his present appointment, he served as the Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC). He also served as the Dean of the College of Engineering and the Director of Micro and Nanotechnology Laboratory at UIUC.

Adesida received his BS, MS, and PhD in Electrical Engineering from the University of California at Berkeley. He has also worked as a Visiting Assistant Professor at Cornell University and served as the Head of the Electrical Engineering Department at Tafawa Balewa University in Nigeria. During his tenure as a faculty and administrator at UIUC, he was instrumental in creating many programs including the iFoundry for Innovation in Engineering Education, Illinois First-Year Engineering Experience (iFEX), Applied Research Institute, Advanced Digital Systems Center in Singapore, a new Engineering-Based College of Medicine, and the Siebel Center for Design.

As a faculty member, he designed curricula on semiconductor materials, semiconductor devices, and nanofabrication technologies and taught these courses to thousands of electrical engineering and materials science undergraduate and graduate students. In research, he has made important contributions to the science and technology of nanofabrication and high-speed electronic devices. He has authored or co-authored over 350 publications and over 250 conference papers including plenary talks. He has mentored and continues to mentor many students and faculty members including women and underrepresented minority groups. Many of these people have gone all over the world to become successful educators, start-up founders, and excellent academic administrators in top universities.

He has won many awards including the Oakley Kunde Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Education, and the TMS John Bardeen Award for outstanding contributions to electronic materials. He was named an outstanding graduate of the EECS Department at the University of California, Berkeley. He was awarded the Distinguished Service Award by the IEEE Electron Device Society of which he served as President in 2006/2007. He served as the Chair of the TMS Electronic Materials Committee. He has also served on many academic and industry Advisory Boards all around the world; and he is an elected member of the National Academy for Engineering.