Robert Bosch Micro and Nano Electro Mechanical Systems Award


robert boschBosch Medal photo 2

Robert Bosch (1861-1942)
Inventor, Entrepreneur, Founder of Robert Bosch GmbH


The Robert Bosch Micro and Nano Electro Mechanical Systems Award was established by the IEEE Electron Devices Society in 2014 to recognize and honor advances in the invention, design, and/or fabrication of micro- or nano- electromechanical systems and/or devices. Individual contributions should be innovative and useful for practical applications.

This award is sponsored by the IEEE Electron Devices Society with financial support from Robert Bosch LLC. It is intended that the award will be presented annually to an individual or to as many as three individuals whose achievements and contributions are judged to meet the selection criteria for the award. The award will be presented at an IEEE conference of the winner's choice. It is not necessary for the recipient(s) to be a member(s) of IEEE.  

Please note:  The EDS Bosch Award cannot be given to a candidate for the same work for which an IEEE Technical Field Award, IEEE Medal, or other society level award was previously received.

The recipient will receive a US$10,000 honorarium, travel expenses to attend the award presentation, a bronze medal, and a certificate. In the event that more than one awardee is selected, the cash honorarium will be equally divided among the recipients. Each recipient will receive a bronze medal and a certificate.

Nominations should be made using our online nomination form and submitted before midnight (EST) on October 2nd to the EDS Executive Office. Letters of recommendation must be sent directly to according to the same schedule.

Congratulations to the team (Stephen C. Terry/John H. Jerman/the late James B. Angell)

2023 IEEE EDS Robert Bosch Micro and Nano Electro Mechanical Systems Award Winner


Robert Bosch Micro and Nano Electro Mechanical Systems Award Winners


Stephen C. Terry

John H. Jerman

James B. Angell (late)

Palo Alto, CA

For pioneering contributions to MEMS by developing and commercializing the microfabricated gas chromatograph
Göran Stemme

Royal Institute of Technology
Stockholm Sweden

For pioneering contributions in MEMS sensors, particularly for medical applications, and sustained commitment to transferring MEMS to industry and society
Chang-Jin "CJ" Kim Univ. of California, Los Angeles, CA For pioneering surface-tension-based microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) that led to electrowetting digital microfluidics and superhydrophobic drag reduction
Ming C. Wu University of California, Berkeley For pioneering contributions in MEMS optical switches and optoelectronic tweezers
Hiroyuki Fujita Advanced Research Lab of Canon Medical Systems Corp. For pioneering contributions in microactuators, optical-MEMS, and bio-nano-MEMS and strong leadership in the science of MEMS
Pasqualina M. Sarro

Delft University of Technology

For pioneering contributions in novel materials, material integration and innovations in MEMS and strong commitment to education and technology transfer

Clark Nguyen

University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA, USA

For pioneering research on high-frequency MEMS vibrating systems and for extraordinary efforts in support of MEMS in industry, government, and teaching



Henry Baltes

Acceptance Speech

Presentation Photo

ETH Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland

For contributions to the exploration and development of CMOS-MEMS, to production using IC foundries and MEMS post-processing, and for inspirational leadership in the worldwide MEMS community
Roger T. Howe
Stanford University
Stanford, CA, USA
For sustained contributions to MEMS/NEMS over many years especially those enabling MEMS-based inertial-sensor applications
Yu-Chong Tai

Caltech, Pasadena, CA, USA

For pioneering contributions in materials, technologies, and design of MEMS/NEMS and groundbreaking achievements in the realization of biomedical parylene MEMS








Although the IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS) is pleased to invite all individuals and groups in the OFAC embargoed countries to submit nominations for IEEE EDS Awards, the IEEE EDS cannot provide any award monies to members from such countries at this time.