PhD Student Fellowship

Description: One year fellowships are awarded to promote, recognize, and support PhD level study and research within the Electron Devices Society’s field of interest.

It is expected that three fellowships will be awarded, with the intention of at least one fellowship being given to eligible students in each of the following geographical regions every year: Americas, Europe/Middle East/Africa, and Asia & Pacific.  Only one candidate can win per educational institution.

Prize: US$5,000 to the student and if necessary funds are also available to assist in covering travel and accommodation cost to attend the IEDM for presentation of an award plaque. The EDS Newsletter will feature articles about the EDS PhD Fellows and their work over the course of the next year.

Eligibility: Candidate must: be an IEEE EDS student member at the time of nomination; be pursuing a doctorate degree within the EDS field of interest on a full-time basis; and continue his/her studies at the current institution with the same faculty advisor for twelve months after receipt of award. Sponsor must be an IEEE EDS member. Previous award winners are ineligible. This fellowship cannot be given to a candidate for the same work for which an IEEE Technical Field Award or IEEE Medal was previously received.

Basis for Judging: Demonstration of his/her significant ability to perform independent research in the fields of electron devices and a proven history of academic excellence.

Application Package:

  • Nominating letter by an EDS member.
  • Two letters of recommendation from individuals familiar with the student’s research and educational credentials.  Letters of recommendation cannot be from the nominator.
  • One-page biographical sketch of the student (including student's mailing and email addresses).
  • Two-page (maximum) statement by the student describing his or her education and research interests and accomplishments.
  • One copy of the student’s under-graduate and graduate transcripts/grades. Please provide an explanation of the grading system if different from the A-F format.


  • Complete application packages are due at the EDS Executive Office no later than August 15, 2020.
  • Recipients will be notified by September 2020.
  • Monetary awards will be given by October 2020.
  • Formal award presentations will take place at the EDS Board of Governors Meeting in December 2020.

Please submit completed application packages by email to (Stacy Lehotzky)

Additional Questions? Please contact Stacy Lehotzky 


IMG 8060

Congratulations to the 2019 IEEE EDS PhD Student Fellowship Winners


2019 WinnersSchool
Haitong Li Stanford University (USA)
Sami Bolat ETH Zurich, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (Switzerland)
Chih-Yang Lin National Sun Yat-Sen University (Taiwan)
2018 Winners School
Chen Jiang University of Cambridge (Cambridge, England)
Yuanyuan Shi

Rovira I Virgili University (Tarragona, Spain)

Junkai Jiang

University of California (Santa Barbara, USA)

2017 WinnersSchool
Renjie Chen University of California, San Diego, USA
Po-Hsun Chen National Sun Yat-sen University, Taiwan
Hao Yu “imec / Katholieke Universiteit, Leuven, Belgium
2016 WinnersSchool
Jiahao Kang University of California, Santa Barbara, CA, USA
Hagyoul Bae Korea Advanced Institute of Science & Technology, Rep. of Korea
Chao-Yang (Michael) Chen imec / Katholieke Universiteit, Leuven, Belgium
2015 WinnersSchool
Shahab Akhavan Bilkent University, Ankara, Turkey
Der-Hsien Lien National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan
Max Shulaker Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA

Past Recipients (2001-2014)


Although the IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS) is pleased to invite all individuals and groups in the OFAC embargoed countries to submit nominations for IEEE EDS Awards, the IEEE EDS cannot provide any award monies to members from such countries at this time.