J.J. Ebers Award


J.J. Ebers Award Committee

j.j. ebers photo


The Jewell James Ebers Award was established in 1971 with the intention to foster progress in electron devices and to commemorate the life activities of Jewell James Ebers, whose distinguished contributions, particularly in the transistor art, shaped the understanding and technology of electron devices.

It is presented annually to honor an individual(s) who has made either a single or a series of contributions of recognized scientific, economic, or social significance in the broad field of electron devices. Nominees are not required to be IEEE or EDS members.  The recipient(s) is awarded a certificate and check for US$5,000, presented at the International Electron Devices Meeting or any of the EDS flagship conferences​ (EDTM, VLSI or PVSC).  

Please note:  The EDS J.J. Ebers Award cannot be given to a candidate for the same work for which an IEEE Technical Field Award, IEEE Medal, or other society level award was previously received.

Please complete and submit your online nomination form by July 1st to the EDS Executive Office.  All endorsement letters should be sent directly to l.riello@ieee.org and received by the deadline date.


 gnade headshot

Congratulations to Bruce Gnade, 2021 IEEE EDS J.J. Ebers Award Winner

For over 30 years, Bruce Gnade has been an influential leader in electronic materials and device technologies, from device physics to science and engineering policy. His contributions while at Texas Instruments (TI) to low-k and high-k dielectrics in Si-CMOS and the development of high resolution display technology have been significant in both industries.  His contributions to electronic materials, device engineering, and technology development resulted in 77 US patents, 54 international patents, and over 200 journal papers. He has delivered over 100 keynote/invited presentations and continues to serve as an advisor to universities and companies around the world.

After receiving his BA in Chemistry from St. Louis University in 1976 and his Ph.D. in Nuclear Chemistry from the Georgia Institute of Technology in 1982, he joined the Central Research Labs at Texas Instruments in Dallas, TX where he led several research and technology groups from 1982-1996.  He left TI in 1996 to join the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) as a program manager in the Microsystems Technology Office.  As a DARPA program manager, he initiated new programs in micro-displays, flexible electronics, and molecular electronics. His early vision continues to influence technical progress in these important areas.   Flexible electronics is now being implemented in applications ranging from implantable medical devices to foldable displays. 

In 2003 he joined the faculty at the University of Texas at Dallas as a professor of Electrical Engineering.  He had two prominent roles at the University of Texas at Dallas (UTD). As founding chair of the UTD Mat. Sci. & Eng. Dept., he built the department into a leading center of excellence in electronic materials. Later as VP of Research and the Distinguished Chair in Microelectronics for 10 years, he helped grow UT Dallas into a Carnegie Tier 1 research university focused on basic Science and Engineering.  He is currently Professor Emeritus at UT Dallas, and the Executive Director of the Hart Center for Engineering Leadership in the Lyle School of Engineering at Southern Methodist University, where he is giving back to the engineering community by mentoring and teaching the young engineering students at SMU.  He serves as Chair of the Board of Directors of Oak Ridge Associated Universities.  He has served on the Editorial Boards of IEEE/OSA Journal of Display Technology and the Journal of Vacuum Science and Technology.  He was a Guest Editor for a special issue on Flat Panel Display Technology in the Proc. of the IEEE.  He is a Fellow of APS, IEEE, and National Academy of Inventors.



Recent Winners of the J.J. Ebers Award

2021 - Bruce Gnade "For materials contributions to CMOS and flexible electronics technologies"

2020 - Arokia Nathan "For contributions to thin film transistors and flexible/foldable electronics integration strategies"

2019 - H.-S. Philip Wong "For pioneering contributions to the scaling of silicon devices and technology"

2018 - Michael Shur "For pioneering the concept of ballistic transport in nanoscale semiconductor devices"

2017 - Kang L. Wang "For contributions and leadership in strained SiGe and magnetic memory technologies"

2016 - Jaroslav Hynecek "For the pioneering work and advancement of CCD and CMOS image sensor technologies"

2015 - Jack Yuan-Chen Sun "For sustained leadership and technical contributions to energy efficient foundry CMOS technologies"

2014 - Joachim N. Burghartz "For contributions to integrated spiral inductors for wireless communication ICs and ultra-thin silicon devices for emerging flexible electronics"

2013 - Nobukazu Teranishi "For development of the Pinned Photodiode concept widely used in Image Sensors”

2012 - Yuan Taur "For contributions to the advancement of several generations of CMOS process technologies"

2011 - Stuart Ross Wenham “For technical contributions and successful commercialization of high efficiency solar cells”

2010 - Mark E. Law “For contributions to widely used silicon integrated circuit process modeling”


View All Past Winners


Although the IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS) is pleased to invite all individuals and groups in the OFAC embargoed countries to submit nominations for IEEE EDS Awards, the IEEE EDS cannot provide any award monies to members from such countries at this time.