Masters Student Fellowship

Description: One-year fellowships awarded to promote, recognize, and support graduate Masters level study and research within the Electron Devices Society’s field of interest.

Three fellowships will be awarded each year, with the intention of at least one fellowship being given to eligible students in each of the following geographical regions: Americas, Europe/Mid-East/Africa, Asia & Pacific.  Only one candidate can win per educational institution.

Prize: US$2,000 and a plaque to the student, to be presented by the Dean or Department head of the student’s enrolled graduate program.

Eligibility: Candidate must: be an IEEE EDS student member at the time of nomination; be accepted into a graduate program or within the first year of study in a graduate program in an EDS field of interest on a full-time basis; and continue his/her studies at a graduate education institution. Nominator must be an IEEE EDS member and preferably be serving as the candidate’s mentor or faculty advisor. Previous award winners are ineligible.  This award cannot be given to a candidate for the same work for which an IEEE Technical Field Award or IEEE Medal was previously received.

Basis for Judging: Demonstration of his/her significant ability to perform research in the fields of electron devices and proven history of academic excellence in engineering and/or physics as well as involved in undergraduate research and/or supervised project.

Application Package:

  • Nominating letter by an EDS member who served as candidate’s mentor or faculty advisor.
  • A letter of recommendation from an individual familiar with the student’s research and educational credentials. Letters of recommendation cannot be from the nominator.
  • One-page biographical sketch of the student (including student's mailing address and e-mail address)
  • Two-page (maximum) statement by the student describing his or her education and research interests, accomplishments and graduation date. This can include undergraduate, graduate and summer internship research work.
  • One copy of the student’s transcripts/grades. 


  • Completed application packages are due at the EDS Executive Office no later than July 15, 2024.
  • Recipients will be notified in September 2024.
  • Monetary awards will be presented by the Dean or Department Chair of the recipient's graduate program at the beginning of the next academic term.

Please submit completed application packages by email to (Stacy Lehotzky)

Additional Questions? Please contact Stacy Lehotzky


2023 WinnersSchool
Md Yasir ZamilUniversity of Nevada (USA)
Han-Yu ChangNational Sun Yat-sen University (Taiwan)
2022 WinnersSchool
Kamal RudraUniversity of Michigan
2021 WinnersSchool
Arpit NandiIndian Institute of Technology Mandi (Himachal Pradesh, India)
2020 WinnersSchool
Hong-Yi TuNational Sun Yat -Sen University
Prasanna Venkatesan RavindranGeorgia Institute of Technology
2019 WinnersSchool
Julian Arenas Universidad Industrial de Santander, Bucaramanga, Colombia
Nilesh Pandey Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India
2018 Winners School
Neel Chatterjee University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, USA
Yu-Chieh Chien National Sun-Yat Sen University, Taiwan
2017 WinnersSchool
Abhinandan Borah Columbia University, New York, USA
Jiabin Wang Tsinghua University, Beijing China

Past Recipients (2007-2016)

Although the IEEE Electron Devices Society (EDS) is pleased to invite all individuals and groups in the OFAC embargoed countries to submit nominations for IEEE EDS Awards, the IEEE EDS cannot provide any award monies to members from such countries at this time.