Lester F. Eastman Award


 Lester Eastman Photo


The Lester F. Eastman Award is named after the late Professor Lester F. Eastman. Professor Eastman is one of the world leaders in the physics and technology of compound semiconductor materials and devices. He has invented, fabricated, and investigated many novel semiconductor materials and devices, and his work on so many occasions has resulted in breakthroughs enabling important practical applications. The best solid-state device groups have followed his ideas with great success, and his former students and associates work in leadership positions in hundreds of leading companies, research laboratories and Universities in the United States and around the globe.

Please note:  The EDS Lester Eastman Award cannot be given to a candidate for the same work for which an IEEE Technical Field Award, IEEE Medal, or other society level award was previously received.


 Lester F. Eastman Award Committee                                                     DONATE NOW!   


Description:  To recognize individuals with outstanding achievement in high-performance semiconductor devices

Established:  2019

Prize: $2,000 and a plaque.  Only 1 winner selected each year and no award will be given if no qualified candidate is identified.

Funding:  Funded by the Lester F. Eastman endowment fund and the IEEE Electron Devices Society

Eligibility:  Any person active in the field of semiconductor devices, whether or not they are members of the IEEE Electron Devices Society, are eligible for the award. 

Basis for Judging:  Criteria considered by the selection committee will include an impact on the field of semiconductor devices. Evidence should include examples of leadership and professional interaction.  Tangible supporting evidence in the form of publications, patents, and/or transition(s) to practice should be provided. 

Deadline:  July 1st

Presentation: Annually, at the International Electron Devices Meeting (IEDM)

Nomination formnomination form link 


 Khan photo

Congratulations to Asif Khan

2020 IEEE EDS Lester F. Eastman Award Winner


Recent Winners of the Lester F. Eastman Award

2020 - Asif Khan, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, USA