Stephen C. Terry

John H. Jerman

James B. Angell (late)

Palo Alto, CA

For pioneering contributions to MEMS by developing and commercializing the microfabricated gas chromatograph
Göran Stemme

Royal Institute of Technology
Stockholm Sweden

For pioneering contributions in MEMS sensors, particularly for medical applications, and sustained commitment to transferring MEMS to industry and society
Chang-Jin "CJ" Kim Univ. of California, Los Angeles, CA For pioneering surface-tension-based microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) that led to electrowetting digital microfluidics and superhydrophobic drag reduction
Ming C. Wu University of California, Berkeley For pioneering contributions in MEMS optical switches and optoelectronic tweezers
Hiroyuki Fujita Advanced Research Lab of Canon Medical Systems Corp. For pioneering contributions in microactuators, optical-MEMS, and bio-nano-MEMS and strong leadership in the science of MEMS
Pasqualina M. Sarro

Delft University of Technology

For pioneering contributions in novel materials, material integration and innovations in MEMS and strong commitment to education and technology transfer

Clark Nguyen

University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA, USA

For pioneering research on high-frequency MEMS vibrating systems and for extraordinary efforts in support of MEMS in industry, government, and teaching



Henry Baltes

Acceptance Speech

Presentation Photo

ETH Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland

For contributions to the exploration and development of CMOS-MEMS, to production using IC foundries and MEMS post-processing, and for inspirational leadership in the worldwide MEMS community
Roger T. Howe
Stanford University
Stanford, CA, USA
For sustained contributions to MEMS/NEMS over many years especially those enabling MEMS-based inertial-sensor applications
Yu-Chong Tai

Caltech, Pasadena, CA, USA

For pioneering contributions in materials, technologies, and design of MEMS/NEMS and groundbreaking achievements in the realization of biomedical parylene MEMS




2022 Girish Pahwa University of California (UC) Berkeley

Avirup Dasgupta

Jiaju Ma

Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee

Gigajot Technology


Harshit Agarwal

Max Shulaker

Indian Institute of Technology, Jodhpur, India

Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA, USA


Luisa Petti
Qianqian Huang
Pragya Kushwaha

Free University of Bolzano, Bolzano, Italy
Peking University, Beijing, China
University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA
2018 Lukas Czornomaz
Manan Suri
IBM, Zurich, Switzerland
Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India
2017 Dongil Moon
Shimeng Yu
NASA Ames Research Center, CA, USA
Arizona State University, AZ, USA
2016 Nagarajan Raghavan SUTD Singapore University of Technology & Design, Singapore
2015 Mayank Shrivastava Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
2014 Can Bayram University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2013 Runsheng Wang Peking University, Beijing, China
2012 Jin-Woo Han NASA Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, CA, USA

Mina Rais-Zadeh

Ravi Todi

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor MI, USA

Western Digital Technologies, Foundry Technology Development, Milpitas, CA, USA

2010 Chen Yang University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA
2009 Chi On Chui University of California, Los Angeles, CA, USA




2022 Timothy Anderson
2021 Samar Saha
2020 Jacobus Swart
2019 Albert Wang
2018 Shuji Ikeda
2017 Paul Yu
2016 Renuka Jindal
2014 Yuan Taur
2013 Cor Claeys
2012 Douglas P. Verret
2011 Ilesanmi Adesida
2010 Marvin H. White
2009 Tak H. Ning
2008 Hiroshi Iwai
2007 Richard S. Muller
2006 Steven J. Hillenius
2005 Cary Y. Yang
2004 Louis C. Parrillo
2003 Frederick H. Dill
2002 Lucian A. Kasprzak
2001 H. Craig Casey, Jr.
2000 Michael S. Adler
1999 John R. Brews
1998 W. Dexter Johnston, Jr.
1997 George E. Smith
1996 Alfred U. Mac Rae
1995 Lewis M. Terman
1994 Friedolf M. Smits



2022 - Oliver Ambacher

2021 - Erhard Kohn, Retired

2020 - Asif Khan, University of South Carolina, Columbia, SC, USA




2022 Ilesanmi Adesida "For outstanding contributions to international education, mentoring and diversity in the field of electron devices"
2021 Tsu-Jae King Liu “For outstanding contributions to education in the field of electron devices and achievements on diversity and inclusion”
2020 Valipe Ramgopal Rao "For educational leadership and establishing Nanoelectronics research programs in India
2019   Chennupati Jagadish                   "For distinguished and sustained contributions globally to education, training and mentoring in the field of interest of  the IEEE Electron Devices Society"
2018   Muhammad Ashraful Alam                   "For educating, inspiring and mentoring students and electron device professionals around the world"
2017 Mansun Chan "For pioneering innovative approaches in electronic engineering education"
2016 Hiroshi Iwai "For providing high-quality engineering education for industry and academics worldwide"
2015 Roger Howe “For contributions to mentoring and education in the fields of microelectromechanical systems and nanotechnology”
2014 Juin J. Liou

“For promoting and inspiring global education and learning in the field of electron devices”


Charvaka Duvvury

“For long-standing services in educating and developing engineers and students in the field of Electro-static Discharge (ESD) and its applications for electronic devices”

2012 Jesus A. del Alamo "For pioneering contributions to the development of online laboratories for microelectronics education on a worldwide scale"
2011 Chenming Hu "For distinguished contributions to education and inspiration of students, practicing engineers and future educators in semiconductor devices"
2010 Sorab K. Ghandhi “For pioneering contributions to semiconductor and microelectronics education”
2009 David L. Pulfrey "For conributions to the teaching of semiconductor devices at both the undergraduate and graduate levels."
2008 Robert W. Dutton "For distingushed contributions to all levels of university education in process, device, and circuit simulations for the semiconductor industry."
2007 Meyya Meyyappan "For promoting nanotechnology education to university and high school students"
2006 Mark S. Lundstrom "To recognize distinguished contributions to education within the field of interest of the IEEE Electron Devices Society"