Michael Shur




NSF Industry/University Cooperative
Research Center “Connection One” at RPI

ECSE and Physics, Applied Physics and Astronomy

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute



Degrees: MSEE (with honors), St. Petersburg Electrotechnical Institute

Ph.D., Physics, A. F. Ioffe Institute of Physics and Technology,

Dr. Phys. Math. Sc. A. F. Ioffe Institute of Physics and Technology, 1992

Honorary Doctorate, St. Petersburg Technical University, 1994

h-index of 90

Publications, Citations, Books, and Patents Over hundred publications cited 100 times or more (the highest number is 798); 43 books authored, co-authored, or edited, 38 book chapters, over 250 patents and patent applications on solid-state devices granted

Co-founder or founder: Sensor Electronic Technology, Inc., Biomedical and Information Technology, Inc., Advanced Device Technology, Inc.

Professional and Honorary Societies: OSA (fellow), SPIE (Fellow), IET (Fellow), IEEE (Life Fellow), American Physical Society (Fellow and Life Member); MRS (Fellow), Electrochemical Society (Fellow), World Innovation Foundation (Fellow), AAAS (Fellow), Electron Device Society; Microwave Theory and Technique Society (Life Member), Eta Kappa Nu; Tau Beta Pi; Sigma Xi (Life Member), ASEE, Electromagnetic Academy (Fellow), US Commission D, International Union of Radio Science (elected), USNC Member-at-Large (elected 2000-2003), International Network for Engineering Education and Research (iNEER), Humboldt Society (Life Member), EuMA Associate member

Editor: Member, Advisory Board, Journal of Nanoelectronics and Optoelectronics (2014 – present); Member, Editorial Board, physics status solidi, Editor-in-Chief, International Journal of High-Speed Electronics and Systems (1995-present); Editor, Book series, Special Topics in Circuits and Systems (1995-present); Associate Editor, IEEE Transactions on Electron Devices (1990-1993) Member, Honorary Editorial Board, Solid State Electronics (1996-present); Member, International Advisory Committee, Journal of Semiconductor Technology and Science (1999-present)

2012 Recognition Award from iNEER for Sustained Joint Collaboration Resulting in Innovations in Distance Learning for Engineering Education, Tibbetts Award from USA Small Business Administration for technology commercialization (2012); two IGERT highlight, May 2010 Winner of 50th Anniversary of the laser essay contest of Melles Griot, Best Student Paper Award fromWOFE-09, Nanoscience Best Student Paper Award from WOFE-09, Foreign Member, Lithuanian Academy of Sciences (2009), MRS Fellow (2009), Best Paper of the Month (Electronics letters Nov. 2008), 2008 Technical Achievement Award from IEEE Sensors Council, Electromagnetic Academy Fellow (2007) IET Fellow (2007), IEEE Donald Fink Best Paper Award (2007) IEEE Leon K. Kirchmayer Graduate Teaching Award (2007), Distinguished Microwave Lecturer, IEEE MTT (2004-2006) Pioneer Award from Semiconductor Semi (2003); Distinguished Lecturer, IEEE, EDS (2003-present) RPI School of Engineering Research Award (2003); Humboldt Senior Research Prize (2002; WOFE-02 three Best Poster Awards (First Place for A. Žukauskas, R. Vaicekauskas, F. Ivanauskas, M. S. Shur and R. Gaska, Optimization of white all- Highly Cited Researcher Commendation (from ISI International) 1999 Materials Research Society Best Poster Award; 1999 van der Ziel Award from ISDRS–99; Commendation for excellence in Technical Communications from Laser Focus World 1999 Outstanding paper award from GOMAC'98; A. F. Ioffe Prize for “New hydrodynamic phenomena in 2D electron fluid Patricia W. and C. Sheldon Roberts Chair in Solid State Electronics, Rensselaer, Aug. (1996) Distinguished Lecturer, University of California, San Diego, May (1995); Honorary Doctorate, St. Petersburg State Technical University (1994); John Marshall Money Chair Professorship, University of Virginia (1989) Member of Center for Advanced Studies, University of Virginia (1989-1991; Eta Kappa Nu, Tau Beta Pi, Sigma Xi; Prizes for the best papers of A. F. Ioffe Institute: 1968-1973; Gold Medal of the Russian Ministry of Education, 1959